Cell C Sharks to face Tafel Lager Griquas in Kimberley

Nov 12 • General News • 849 Views • Comments Off on Cell C Sharks to face Tafel Lager Griquas in Kimberley

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Tafel Lager Griquas vs. Cell C Sharks
Date: Friday, 13th November 2020
Time: 19h00
Venue: Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley
Referee: Griffin Colby
Assistant Referees: Rasta Rasivhenge, Paul Mente
Television Match Official: Jaco Peyper

The Cell C Sharks take on the Tafel Lager Griquas on Friday in Kimberley in their penultimate Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked pool game, hoping to make it three wins in three outings.

Griquas have not enjoyed the kind of success they would have wanted so far, having lost all four of their matches in the tournament and in this, their final home game of the competition (before visiting Bloemfontein to take on the Cheetahs in the final weekend’s action), would like nothing better than putting one over the Cell C Sharks.

Jeremy Ward, who co-captained the Cell C Sharks in last year’s Currie Cup competition with Tera Mtembu, will lead a team that shows a number of changes.

As per the regulation, weekly Covid19 testing takes place within the Cell C Sharks camp and unfortunately there has been one confirmed positive case in our senior group. The player, along with those that have been identified as having close contact with him are isolating and are being monitored by our Team Doctor.

Head coach Sean Everitt has rejigged his side, particularly amongst the forwards with the return to the starting line-up of influential players who have worked their way back either from injury or rest.

After playing off the bench in the last few games, hooker Kerron van Vuuren comes in for Daniel Jooste, while Ruben van Heerden is back in the second row after two starts for JJ van der Mescht, who will play off the bench.

In the backrow, James Venter is in for Dylan Richardson with Thembelani Bholi earning a first start and Phepsi Buthelezi completing the loose forward trio.

The exciting Anthony Volmink, formerly of Griquas and Cheetahs, signed by the Cell C Sharks as cover at fullback, starts in the 15 jersey in place of Manie Libbok against his former side.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. John-Hubert Meyer
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. James Venter
  7. Thembelani Bholi
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Sanele Nohamba
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Madosh Tambwe
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Jeremy Ward (C)
  14. Yaw Penxe
  15. Anthony Volmink*


  1. Daniel Jooste
  2. Mzamo Majola
  3. Khwezi Mona*
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Dylan Richardson
  6. Cameron Wright
  7. Manie Libbok
  8. Sbu Nkosi

*Denotes debut for the Cell C Sharks

Related Posts

« »