Cell C Sharks to play Vodacom Bulls

Dec 2 • General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa, United Rugby Championship • 640 Views • Comments Off on Cell C Sharks to play Vodacom Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There might have been an element of youthfulness about the Cell C Sharks in the early rounds of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship, but the side named to take on the Vodacom Bulls is anything but inexperienced.

Head coach Sean Everitt has welcomed back his Springboks into the Cell C Sharks fold and had no hesitation in naming an extremely competitive and experienced side for Friday night’s clash at Jonsson Kings Park.

With the first four rounds of URC action now over and the autumn test window a thing of the past, the South African sides are back to full strength and Everitt has been able to recall numerous Boks to his side for this match-up.

“It’s great to have the Boks back with us,” Everitt admitted. “They’ve come back into the squad full of energy and enthusiasm and have acted like true professionals, returning to the Cell C Sharks showing great discipline and preparation from the Springboks, something they’ve passed on to the younger players.”

Back in the side are Springbok captain Siya Kolisi and Cell C Sharks inspirational leader Lukhanyo Am, along with test wingers Makazole Mapimpi and Sbu Nkosi, while hooker Bongi Mbonambi makes his debut in the black and white jersey, having been signed from the Stormers.

“While we’re up against a tough side in the Vodacom Bulls, this is a Cell C Sharks side that grew over the first four rounds of the URC and we’re looking forward to taking the Bulls on in front of our fans, even if it’s a limited number,” Everitt added.

“It’s going to be great to have spectators cheering the Cell C Sharks on and I’m sure the players will deliver a performance fitting the gratitude they have for their support.”

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  2. Bongi Mbonambi*
  3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Siya Kolisi
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Ruan Pienaar
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Lukhanyo Am (c)
  13. Jeremy Ward
  14. Sbu Nkosi
  15. Anthony Volmink


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Khwezi Mona
  3. Lourens Adriaanse
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. Henco Venter
  6. Sanele Nohamba
  7. Tito Bonilla
  8. Werner Kok
  9. *Denotes Cell C Sharks debut

Related Posts

« »