Jun 20 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1558 Views • Comments Off on Cell C Sharks VODACOM SUPER RUGBY QUARTER-FINAL

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date:Saturday 22 June 2019
Time:20h05 (AEST) 12h05 (CAT)
Venue:GIO Stadium, Canberra
Referee:Mike Fraser
Assistant Referees:Angus Gardner, Graham Cooper
Television Match Official:James Leckie

The Cell C Sharks side named to play the Brumbies in Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby quarter-final shows just two changes to the team that defeated the Stormers in Cape Town last weekend.

Aphelele Fassi has been ruled out of the match with a rotator cuff sprain on his right shoulder and in his place sees the welcome return of a fit again Curwin Bosch who will operate at fullback. Juan Schoeman was not considered for selection last week due to a bout of flu and returns to the bench as loose-head cover.  Selection continuity, particularly after a successful outing the previous week, always stands a team in good stead.

Add to that this year’s away record that has shown the Cell C Sharks to be effective and triumphant away from home and the signs bode well for a positive outing against the Australian Conference winners who have enjoyed a very good 2019 campaign.

Cell C Sharks captain Louis Schreuder, speaking from the team’s base in Coogee in Sydney ahead of a three-hour bus ride to Canberra, said that the team is focused and ready for the clash against the Brumbies.

“The game against the Stormers is behind us and our focus is on the Brumbies. Everyone is excited and looking forward to the challenge.”

“We haven’t faced them this year, they’re one of the teams we missed, they’re the log leaders in the Australian Conference so they’re not in the quarter-finals by chance,” he pointed out.

“They’re a physical, well-organised team with a good set-piece and kicking game so we’re going to have to be well-prepared for that.”

Cell C Sharks
15. Curwin Bosch
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Lukhanyo Am
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Makazole Mapimpi
10. Robert du Preez
9. Louis Schreuder (c)
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Tyler Paul
6. Jacques Vermeulen
5. Hyron Andrews
4. Ruben van Heerden
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Kerron van Vuuren
1. Mzamo Majola
16. Cullen Collopy
17. Juan Schoeman
18. Thomas du Toit
19. Gideon Koegelenberg
20. Luke Stringer
21. Cameron Wright
22. Jeremy Ward
23. Rhyno Smith

Related Posts

« »