Cheetahs team to take on WP

Oct 1 • General News • 1807 Views • Comments Off on Cheetahs team to take on WP

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs will be taking on the log-topping Western Province this Saturday, October 4th, in the Free State Stadium at 14:00.

Coach Rory Duncan has named his side for this clash.


Free State Rugby, in collaboration with the FSSSI  and Free State Provincial government have decided to price tickets on the open stand at R20

for this clash. This  is in celebration of the Macufe festival taking place in the City of Roses this month. Special entertainment will be provided by the

Vuka Dancers.


A short program for Saturday:              

09:00 gates open

09:00 Sparta Braai area opens

10:00 U/19 Toyota FS Cheetahs vs WP

11:45 U/21 Toyota FS Cheetahs vs WP

13:30 Pre-match entertainment

14:00 main match – Toyota FS Cheetahs vs WP


Castle deck after the game:                   A performance by Karen Ferreira and a broadcast of the test match.


Changes from last week’s team:


  • JP Du Plessis moves from the bench to take up Rayno Benjamin’s place at right wing. Rayno is out on a hamstring injury.
  • Lappies Labuschagne moves from number 7 – flanker to replace Jean Cook who is also out on a hamstring injury at number 8.
  • Neil Claassen takes up Lappies’ place at flank from the bench.
  • Henco Venter moves to the bench and makes way for Werner Lourens on left lock
  • AJ Coertzen and Vincent Jobo are back as replacements.


TEAM                                   Name                              Surname                  

15 Full back Clayton Blommetjies
14 Right wing JP Du Plessis
13 Right centre Francois (vc) Venter
12 Left centre Joubert Engelbrecht
11 Left wing Raymond Rhule
10 Fly half Willie Du Plessis
9 Scrum half Sarel Pretorius
8 Number eight Lappies Labuschagne
7 Right flanker Neil Claassen
6 Left flanker Tienie Burger
5 Right lock Francois Uys
4 Left lock Werner Lourens
3 Tight head prop George Marich
2 Hooker Torsten ( c ) Van Jaarsveld
1 Loose head prop Coenie Oosthuizen





16 Hooker Hercu Liebenberg
17 Prop Caylib Oosthuizen
18 Utility Forward Henco Venter
19 Utility Forward Vincent Jobo
20 Scrum half Shaun Venter
21 Utility back Pieter-Steyn De Wet
22 Utility back AJ Coertzen



Related Posts

« »