Cheika calls on Cummins and White for Argentina Tour

Jul 19 • General News, International, National • 1953 Views • Comments Off on Cheika calls on Cummins and White for Argentina Tour

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Qantas Wallabies have announced a 31-man touring squad for the next round of The Rugby Championship in Argentina on Saturday, 25 July.
Will Genia and Rob Horne have both been ruled out of the squad due to injury, following Australia’s four point victory over the Springboks in Brisbane on the weekend.

Genia suffered bone bruising and minor cartilage damage to his knee, while Horne will return to Sydney with a calf strain.

Qantas Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “It’s disappointing for Will and Rob to miss this upcoming Test. They have both made an outstanding contribution to the group this past two weeks, and will continue to remain part of the wider squad from afar.”

“Will is due to have some minor surgery this week and we are confident he will be available for selection for the Bledisloe Cup series.

“We have taken a conservative approach with Rob and the additional week off will serve him well going into the next stage of our campaign.

Nick Cummins and Nic White will join the squad as their replacements, with two further additions in hooker James Hanson and prop Tetera Faulkner.

They will return as official members of the 31-man squad, after being used as additional training squad players in the lead-up to the Springboks Test.

31 Man Qantas Wallabies Squad for Round Two of the Rugby Championship against Argentina, Mendoza, Saturday 25 July.

Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs)
Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)
Quade Cooper (Reds)
Nick Cummins (Force)
Tetera Faulkner (Force)
Scott Fardy (Brumbies)
Israel Folau (Waratahs)
Bernard Foley (Waratahs)
Matt Giteau (Toulon)
James Hanson (Reds)
Scott Higginbotham (Rebels)
Greg Holmes (Reds)
Michael Hooper (Waratahs)
James Horwill (Reds)
Sekope Kepu (Waratahs)
Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies)
Stephen Moore – Captain (Brumbies)
Drew Mitchell (Toulon)
Ben McCalman (Force)
Sean McMahon (Rebels)
Dean Mumm (Waratahs)
Nick Phipps (Waratahs)
David Pocock (Brumbies)
Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs)
Scott Sio (Brumbies)
Rob Simmons (Reds)
Will Skelton (Waratahs)
James Slipper (Reds)
Matt Toomua (Brumbies)
Joe Tomane (Brumbies)
Nic White (Brumbies)

Related Posts

« »