Chiefs team announced for final trial against Hurricanes

Feb 15 • General News, New Zealand, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 4065 Views • Comments Off on Chiefs team announced for final trial against Hurricanes

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Craig Clarke securing the ball in the lineout against the Reds. Photo by Getty Images.

The Chiefs have announced their team to play in their final trial match against the Hurricanes at Mangatainoka this Saturday at 3pm.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie plans to give the majority of his players a run with the exception of Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Brendon Leonard, Charlie Ngatai and Richard Kahui who are all out with injury.  All are expected to be fit in the coming weeks except Leonard who is out for another four weeks with a fractured cheek.

Getting a chance to prove their versatility is Tim Nanai-Williams who will start at centre and Gareth Anscombe who will be at fullback.

Chiefs’ coach Dave Rennie said “We have been really impressed with both of these players.  With their skill sets they very well could start the season in these positions, so they are getting a crack at it tomorrow.”

  1. Pauliasi Manu
  2. Hika Elliot
  3. Ben Afeaki
  4. Craig Clarke ©
  5. Mike Fitzgerald
  6. Nick Crosswell
  7. Tanerau Latimer
  8. Fritz Lee
  9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
  10. Aaron Cruden
  11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma
  12. Bundee Aki
  13. Tim Nanai-Williams
  14. Lelia Masaga
  15. Gareth Anscombe

 Mahonri Schwalger, Toby Smith, Romana Graham, Sam Cane, Augustine Pulu, Maritino Nemani, Ross Filipo, Rhys Marshall, Brodie Retallick, Liam Messam, Patrick Osborne and Ben Tameifuna.

Related Posts

« »