Chiefs team announced to play Highlanders

Jun 18 • General News, Super Rugby • 3331 Views • Comments Off on Chiefs team announced to play Highlanders

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Chiefs have announced their team to play the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday night in the Investec Super Rugby Final Series Qualifier Match.

It is the fourth consecutive year under coach Dave Rennie that the Chiefs have made the play-offs.

Newly re-signed Chiefs hooker Hika Elliot and flanker Sam Cane will return to the side, having been rested last week. The match will be Hika’s 100th Super Rugby game.

Michael Fitzgerald moves onto the blindside while captain Liam Messam takes over the No 8 duties.  Brad Weber starts at halfback and Andrew Horrell gets the nod at first five-eighth.

Cousins Tim Nanai-Williams and Sonny Bill Williams will pair up in the midfield with Charlie Ngatai out due to concussion.  Damian McKenzie starts at fullback with Tom Marshall ruled out with a knee injury.

24 year-old Kayne Hammington gets the opportunity to make his Super Rugby debut for the Chiefs off the bench.  He is joined by new reserves Michael Leitch, Marty McKenzie and Seta Tamanivalu.

The game is this Saturday 20th June, kicking off at 7.35pm at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

Chiefs Team

1.  Pauliasi Manu
2.  Hika Elliot – 100th Super Rugby match
3.  Ben Tameifuna
4.  Matt Symons
5.  Brodie Retallick
6.  Michael Fitzgerald
7.  Sam Cane
8.  Liam Messam ©
9.  Brad Weber
10. Andrew Horrell
11. James Lowe
12. Sonny Bill Williams
13. Tim Nanai-Williams
14. Bryce Heem
15. Damian McKenzie

16. Quentin MacDonald
17. Siate Tokolahi
18. Jamie Mackintosh
19. Mitchell Crosswell
20. Michael Leitch 

21.  Kane Hammington – Super Rugby and Chiefs Debut
22.  Marty McKenzie
23. Seta Tamanivalu

Courtesy of The Chiefs

Related Posts

« »