Crusaders vs. Cell C Sharks

Apr 30 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1743 Views • Comments Off on Crusaders vs. Cell C Sharks

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date:Friday 3rd May 2019
Time:19h35 (AEST) 09h35 (CET)
Venue:Chrischurch Stadium, Christchurch
Referee:Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Referees:Mike Fraser, James Munro
Television Match Official:Glen Newman

The Crusaders host the Cell C Sharks in a top two Vodacom Super Rugby match on Friday morning in the team’s second tour match, looking to build on the effort against the Waratahs.

The Crusaders are up against a fired-up Cell C Sharks side who leapt into second spot on the table off the back of a powerful physical effort against the Waratahs and head coach Robert du Preez will be asking his team to deliver more of the same against the Crusaders.

The Cell C Sharks coach has not tinkered too much with last week’s successful side, making just a couple of changes to the team playing the Crusaders.

Thomas du Toit will revert to the loosehead side of the scrum in place of Beast Mtawarira, who has returned home with an MCL injury to his left knee.  Coenie Oosthuizen starts at tighthead while Ruan Botha, after making his comeback from injury last week off the bench will start this match with Hyron Andrews given respite after a sustained period of rugby, although he has been named amongst the reserves.

There is just one change in the backline, Louis Schreuder returning to the starting line-up and taking back the captaincy armband worn by Beast Mtawarira against the Waratahs.

Like last week, it’s all about pressuring the opposition and focusing for 80 minutes.

“We played really well and were in control of the game, dominating them,” said du Preez in the lead-up to this match.

Ball handling might have let the side down previously, but in the match against the Waratahs there was a much-improved performance and this week, against the Crusaders, the coach will be looking for more of the same.

“The conditions are a lot better here and not as humid as in Durban, but we have been working on handling and our basics and the message this week is ‘back to basics’”.

Cell C Sharks
15. Aphelele Fassi
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Lukhanyo Am
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Makazole Mapimpi
10. Curwin Bosch
9. Louis Schreuder (c)
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Jean-Luc du Preez
6. Philip van der Walt
5. Ruan Botha
4. Ruben van Heerden
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Kerron van Vuuren
1. Thomas du Toit

16. Akker van der Merwe
17. Mzamo Majola
18. John-Hubert Meyer
19. Hyron Andrews
20. Jacques Vermeulen
21. Cameron Wright
22. Robert du Preez
23. Marius Louw


Related Posts

« »