DHL Stormers century for Malherbe at DHL Newlands

Feb 6 • General News, International, National, South Africa, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1162 Views • Comments Off on DHL Stormers century for Malherbe at DHL Newlands

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Tighthead prop Frans Malherbe will play his 100th Vodacom Super Rugby match for the DHL Stormers in the Round Two encounter with the Vodacom Bulls at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The North-South rivals will square off at 17h15 on Saturday, as the DHL Stormers look to make it two straight wins at the start of the season, following their 27-0 victory against the Hurricanes.

Tickets are available from and all Computicket outlets.

There are just two injury-enforced changes to the starting team, which did duty last week and both come in the forward pack with hooker Bongi Mbonambi and skipper Siya Kolisi both ruled out.

Scarra Ntubeni is set to play in the front row in between Malherbe in his 100th game and new skipper Steven Kitshoff, while Johan du Toit starts in the back row at No.8 alongside his brother Pieter-Steph.

There are four changes among the replacements, with Cobus Wiese, Juarno Agustus and Jean-Luc du Plessis returning from injury and Chad Solomon set to make his first appearance of the season.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is determined to build on their performance last week in what should be a typically fierce South African derby.

“We know there are some areas in which we can make a step up and we are expecting a hugely physical challenge on Saturday, so we cannot afford to lose focus.

“The atmosphere at DHL Newlands last week was incredible and we are looking forward to another opportunity to play in front of our supporters in a big derby, we are determined to make the most of what will be another great opportunity.

“This will be the last North-South Vodacom Super Rugby derby at DHL Newlands, so it will be another piece of history for the rugby-mad people of this region,” he said.

DHL Stormers:
15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Johan du Toit, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe (100th DHL Stormers cap), 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).

16 Chad Solomon, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Cobus Wiese, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Juarno Augustus, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis

Related Posts

« »