DHL Stormers team announced playing against The Brumbies

May 25 • National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 1466 Views • Comments Off on DHL Stormers team announced playing against The Brumbies

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

DHL Stormers team announced playing against The Brumbies

Allister Coetzee, head coach of the DHL Stormers, today named a team with a number of changes to the side that beat the Blues 28-26 in Auckland last Friday.


In an injury enforced change, Brok Harris replaces the injured CJ van der Linde at tight head, whilst Steven Kitshoff provides front row cover off the bench.


Duane Vermeulen, who has played all the games this season, is rotated to the bench, whilst Nick Koster is given a start in jersey 8.


In a horses for courses selection, Dewaldt Duvenage returns at scrumhalf, with Ricky Januarie providing cover from the bench.


Peter Grant  is bracketed with Kurt Coleman at 10, for the injured Lionel Cronje.  Peter Grant, who has been managed at practice this week, is given until Captains Run to recover fully from his ankle strain. Should Grant not pass his fitness test Coleman will start. If Grant is fit to play, Coleman falls out of the 22.


Juan de Jongh retains jersey 12, whilst Jean de Villiers, who returns from injury, wears jersey 21, playing off a strong bench. Jaque Fourie returns at outside centre with Johann Sadie moving to the bench.


“We have never beaten the Brumbies in Canberra and this week will be a tough challenge” said coach Allister Coetzee. “ The Australian sides are not just a physical threat, they are also tactically astute. Preparations have gone well this week and the team will be up for this game” added the coach.


The team is as follows:

15. Conrad Jantjes

14. Gio Aplon

13. Jaque Fourie

12. Juan de Jongh

11. Bryan Habana

10. Peter Grant (Kurt Coleman)

9. Dewaldt Duvenage

8. Nick Koster

7. Francois Louw

6. Schalk Burger (C)

5. Andries Bekker

4. Rynhardt Elstadt

3. Brok Harris

2. Deon Fourie

1. Wicus Blaauw



16. Tiaan Liebenberg

17. Steven Kitshoff

18. Anton Van Zyl

19. Duane Vermeulen

20. Ricky Januarie

21. Jean de Villiers

22. Johann Sadie


Referee: Marius Jonker

11h40 Saturday (SA Time): Brumbies VS DHL Stormers


Related Posts

« »