DHL Stormers team to play the Lions in Neo Africa Tri-Series match announced

Jan 26 • National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 1765 Views • Comments Off on DHL Stormers team to play the Lions in Neo Africa Tri-Series match announced

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

NewlandsAllister Coetzee, head coach of the DHL Stormers named a strong, senior team to take on the Lions in the first game of the Neo Africa Tri-Series on Friday (19h00) at DHL Newlands Rugby Stadium.  The game is the first of three Newlands based games in the annual pre-season tournament with the Lions taking on the Sharks on Tuesday 1 February (19h00) and the DHL Stormers taking on the Sharks on Saturday 5 February at 17h00.

Tickets for the Neo Africa Tri-Series are available at all Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers outlets as well as on the Computicket website ( and from the Newlands Box Office at the following prices:

DHL Stormers vs. Lions

Lions vs. Sharks

DHL Stormers vs. Sharks

All Seating R40.00 R30.00 R40.00
Danie Craven Standing R20.00 R10.00 R20.00
Scholars’ Enclosure R10.00 R10.00 R10.00

Please note that season tickets are not valid for the above friendlies.

The team is as follows:

15.          Conrad Jantjes

14.          Gio Aplon

13.          Juan De Jongh

12.       Jean De Villiers

11.          Bryan Habana

10.          Gary Van Aswegen

9.            Ricky Januarie

8.            Duane Vermuelen

7.            Rynhardt Elstadt

6.            Schalk Burger             (C)

5.            Andries Bekker

4.            De Kock Steenkamp

3.            Brok Harris

2.            Tiaan Liebenberg

1.            CJ van Der Linde


16.       Siyabonga Ntubeni

17.       Steven Kitshoff

18.          Frans Malherbe

19.          Wimpie Van Der Walt

20.          Quinn Roux

21.          Pieter Louw

22.          Siya Kolisi

23.          Louis Schreuder

24.          Elgar Watts

25.          Johann Sadie

26.          Tim Whitehead

27.          JJ Engelbrecht

28.          Danie Poolman

History of the Neo Africa Tri-Series

The Neo Africa Tri-Series was started in 2010 as a pre-season tournament for the Vodacom Super Rugby tournament. The series is hosted at the famous Newlands Rugby Stadium and saw the host Stormers take on the Sharks and the Western Force from Australia over a week of intense rugby.

The inaugural match of the Neo Africa Tri-Series saw the Stormers face the Force from Australia. The game also saw the debut of two Springbok greats in Bryan Habana and Jaque Fourie who both made their debuts for the franchise. In what proved to be a one sided affair with the home team running our 54-12 winners. Joe Pietersen ended the game with an impressive 24 points thanks to two tries, four conversations and 2 penalties.

The second match saw the Force taking on the Sharks. In what was a complete reversal of form from their first outing in the Neo Africa Tri-Series, the Australians put in an inspired display to leave their opponents scoreless in a 26-0 victory. The Force put in a all-round team performance to see them score tries through Sam Wykes, Ryan Cross, Cameron Shepherd and James O’Connor.

In the final fixture of the 2010 Neo Africa Tri-Series, local rivals the Stormers and the Sharks faced off in a local derby. True to the form of the tournament, the Stormers ran out comfortable 29-14 winners in front of the Newlands faithful. Once again full back Joe Pietersen put in an impressive stint to end the game with 14 points.

Facts and Figures

2010 Neo Africa Tri-Series top performers

Top try scorers

  • 2: Tiaan Liebenberg, Joe Pietersen
  • 1: Andries Bekker, Peter Grant, Bryan Habana, JJ Engelbrecht, Joelin Rapana, Mark Swanepoel, Sam Wykes, Ryan Cross, Cameron Shephard, Jame O’Connor, Schalk Burger, Sireli Naqelevuki, Luzuko Vulindlu

Top points scorers

  • 38:Joe Pietersen (2 tries, 6 penalties, 5 conversions)
  • 10: Peter Grant (1 try, 1 penalty, 1 conversion), Tiaan Liebenberg (2 tries)
  • 9: James O’Connor (1 try, 2 conversions)
  • 6: Rory Kockott (2 penalties)
  • 5: Andries Bekker, Bryan Habana, JJ Engelbrecht, Joelin Rapana, Mark Swanepoel, Sam Wykes, Ryan Cross, Cameron Shephard, Schalk Burger, Sireli Naqelevuki, Luzuko Vulindlu (all 1 try)
  • 4: Andre Pretorious (2 conversions)
  • 3: Steve Meyer (1 penalty)

Related Posts

« »