DHL Stormers team v Chiefs announced

Mar 6 • General News, National, South Africa, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 4129 Views • Comments Off on DHL Stormers team v Chiefs announced

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head coach Allister Coetzee has named an unchanged starting XV for the DHL Stormers’ first home game of the 2013 Vodacom Super Rugby season.

The Stormers will take on the defending champion Chiefs at DHL Newlands on Saturday (kick-off 17h05), and Coetzee has kept the changes to a minimum – making just two adjustments to the bench.

Fit-again Springbok hooker Tiaan Liebenberg comes in for Martin Bezuidenhout on the bench, whilst Dewaldt Duvenage replaces Louis Schreuder as the back-up to starting No.9 Nic Groom.

Groom will, again, combine with Elton Jantjies at halfback, with Damian de Allende and captain Jean de Villiers starting at centre for the third match in succession – giving the team much-needed continuity in crucial backline positions.

The DHL Stormers have not played against the Chiefs at DHL Newlands since 2009, but these two sides have enjoyed some great battles over the years in Super Rugby, with the Stormers leading the head-to-head tally by eight wins to the Chiefs’ six victories.

Tickets are still available for Saturday’s match and can be purchased at the DHL Newlands ticket office, PostNet outlets and online at


The DHL Stormers team to take on the Chiefs is as follows:


15. Joe Pietersen

14. Gio Aplon

13. Jean de Villiers (captain)

12. Damian de Allende

11. Bryan Habana

10. Elton Jantjies

9. Nic Groom

8. Duane Vermeulen

7. Rynhardt Elstadt

6. Siya Kolisi

5. Andries Bekker

4. De Kock Steenkamp

3. Frans Malherbe

2. Deon Fourie

1. Steven Kitshoff



16. Tiaan Liebenberg

17. Pat Cilliers

18. Don Armand

19. Nizaam Carr

20. Dewaldt Duvenage

21. Peter Grant

22. Gerhard van den Heever


Referee: Jaco Peyper

Related Posts

« »