DHL WP change it up on home turf

Jun 29 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 793 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP change it up on home turf

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are five changes to the DHL Western Province team that will take on the Cell C Sharks at Cape Town Stadium on Wednesday.

Three of the changes are in the backline and two are in the forward pack, for the Carling Currie Cup coastal clash, which kicks off earlier than originally scheduled at 17h00 on Wednesday, due to the latest national COVID regulations.

Sergeal Petersen is at back at fullback, with Tim Swiel shifting to flyhalf, while Edwill van der Merwe makes his first appearance of the campaign on the wing.

Rikus Pretorius is at inside centre and will be partnered in midfield by Cornel Smit in the absence of the injured Dan du Plessis, while Paul de Wet starts at scrumhalf.

Evan Roos is back at No.8, with Hacjivah Dayimani making his first start on the flank and loan player Reinach Venter making his DHL Western Province debut at hooker.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is determined to make an impression in their first Carling Currie Cup game at their new home ground, Cape Town Stadium.

“After two games away from home we want to be as accurate as possible in all areas of our game at Cape Town Stadium.

“It has been a good week of preparation and we are excited to see what the players coming in can add this week,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Cornel Smit, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Ali Vermaak.

16 Jason Alexander, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Juarno Augustus, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Abner van Reenen, 24 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 25 Lyle Hendricks.

Related Posts

« »