DHL WP team v Boland announced for Vodacom Cup clash

Mar 6 • National, South Africa, Vodacom Cup, Vodacom Cup News • 2909 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP team v Boland announced for Vodacom Cup clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The DHL Western Province team has been announced for their opening game in the 2013 Vodacom Cup competition – against the Boland Cavaliers – on Saturday afternoon.

DHL WP, the defending champions, will travel to Ceres to take on Boland (kick-off 14h40), and coach John Dobson has named an exciting line-up for the game which will be televised live on SuperSport One.

“We have enormous respect for Boland,” said Dobson, “and we know, in this Cape derby, that they desperately want to beat Province. We can’t wait!”

Starting players Cheslin Kolbe, Devon Williams, Rayn Smid, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Chris Cloete, Ryan Olivier, Dylan Rogers and Stephan Coetzee will be on debut for the senior DHL WP side, along with replacements Jody Reyneke, Hendrik Ferreira, Vince Jobo, Carel du Preez, Godlen Masimla and Tim Swiel.

Starting flyhalf Kurt Coleman and centres Michael van der Spuy and Berton Klaasen will provide the backline experience, along with captain Bolla Conradie, whilst Gary van Aswegen – a flyhalf boasting Super Rugby and Currie Cup game-time – is back from injury and will take his place on the bench.

“We’re very excited to finally start our campaign after a long pre-season,” added Dobson.

“We have been a little hit by injuries – more than I would like for a first game due to training injuries and, of course, we are impacted upon by injuries in the DHL Stormers team.

“Having said that we have a fantastic young talented team – five of our pack are Under-21 players and five of our backs (are also U21), which augurs well. It’s a new team, compared to last year, so our focus has been on starting again to try and win the (Vodacom) Cup rather than defending it, because the personnel are vastly different.”

The DHL Western Province Vodacom Cup team to take on Boland is as follows:


15. Cheslin Kolbe

14. Pat Howard

13. Berton Klaasen

12. Michael van der Spuy

11. Devon Williams

10. Kurt Coleman

9. Bolla Conradie (captain)

8. Rayn Smid

7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

6. Chris Cloete

5. Gerbrandt Grobler

4. Ryan Olivier

3. Ashley Wells

2. Stephan Coetzee

1. Dylan Rogers



16. Jody Reyneke

17. Hendrik Ferreira

18. Vince Jobo

19. Carel du Preez

20. Godlen Masimla

21. Gary van Aswegen

22. Tim Swiel


Referee: Juan Sylvestre (Argentina)

Related Posts

« »