DHL WP team v Sharks XV announced (Vodacom Cup)

Mar 13 • South Africa, South Africa, Vodacom Cup, Vodacom Cup News • 3086 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP team v Sharks XV announced (Vodacom Cup)

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


The DHL Western Province team has been announced for Saturday’s Vodacom Cup, Round Two meeting against the Sharks XV at City Park (15h30).

Coach John Dobson has made four changes to the team that drew 17-17 with Boland last week – including one positional switch in the front row.

Centre Marcel Brache is back from a serious neck injury, and will captain the team from inside centre, whilst DHL Stormers forward Don Armand will pack down in the No.7 jersey for the defending champions.

Fit-again prop Chris Heiberg will pack down at tighthead, on his Vodacom Cup debut, with Ash Wells moving to the loosehead position and Dylan Rogers dropping to the bench.

“This is obviously a helluva tough game for us – it’s a formidable Sharks team and we have had some very tight encounters with them in recent years. They were also excellent against the Border Bulldogs in their big win last week,” said Dobson.

“But we’re thrilled that Chris Heiberg and Marcel Brache are back from injury. We are just now hoping that (flyhalf) Kurt Coleman recovers from his tonsillitis, but we are blessed in having another ten like Gary van Aswegen who did well last week, especially with that last (conversion) kick.”

Gates open at 13h00 at City Park (in Athlone) on Saturday ahead of the 15h30 kick-off. Tickets will be priced at R10 person and R10 per car.

“We know there is a big game in ‘Bo-Kaap’ on Saturday (in the Community Cup), but we hope the Province fans will make their way to City Park,” said Dobson.

“We are keeping a close eye on the Community Cup and the Varsity Cup and know that we will benefit from this once those competitions are finished – for example (scrumhalf), Ricky Schroeder will be joining us next week at training once again.”

The DHL Western Province Vodacom Cup team to take on the Sharks XV is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe

14. Pat Howard

13. Berton Klaasen

12. Marcel Brache (captain)

11. Devon Williams

10. Kurt Coleman

9. Bolla Conradie

8. Rayn Smid

7. Don Armand

6. Chris Cloete

5. Gerbrandt Grobler (vice-captain)

4. Ryan Olivier

3. Chris Heiberg

2. Stephan Coetzee

1. Ashley Wells



16. Jody Reyneke

17. Dylan Rogers

18. Hendrik Ferreira

19. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

20. Godlen Masimla

21. Gary van Aswegen

22. Tim Swiel


Referee: Matt Kemp

Related Posts

« »