DHL WP U19 forced to change

Aug 18 • General News • 1489 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP U19 forced to change

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Injuries have forced DHL Western Province U19 coach Nazeem Adams to make five changes to his starting line-up to face the Toyota Cheetahs U19, at DHL Newlands on Friday.

Adams’ charges will be looking for their seventh consecutive victory of the season when they take on the Free State outfit in a match that kicks off at 12h00.

Three of the changes are in the backline, with Ryan Muller replacing Tristan Leyds (ankle injury) at fullback, Cyprian Nkomo coming in at inside centre for Troy Payne (knee injury), and Brandon Salamo getting an opportunity at scrumhalf for Jondre Williams (concussion).

Although Adams has lost the services of lock Cobus Wiese (shoulder injury) and hooker Matt Wiseman (groin injury), he has been able to replace them with Ruben de Villiers and Shane Farmer, who are both returning from spells on the sidelines themselves.

The DHL Western Province U19 coach said that he is excited to see what the new players can bring to the mix as they look to continue their winning momentum following their bye last week.

“It is a great opportunity for those players coming in and I am confident that they can do the business on Friday.

“The rest of the squad will be quite fresh coming off the break and we have had a good training week,” he said.

However, Adams said that his team will be taking nothing for granted against a tough Toyota Free State Cheetahs U19 side.

“As usual we have kept the focus on ourselves, but we know that we will have to be at our best against a Toyota Free State Cheetahs side that has found some good form,” he added.

DHL Western Province U19: 15 Ryan Muller, 14 Nico Leonard, 13 David Brits, 12 Cyprian Nkomo, 11 Tumi Mogoje, 10 Jordan Chait, 9 Brandon Salomo, 8 Zain Davids, 7 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Jordan Sesink-Clee, 4 Ruben de Villiers, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Shane Farmer, 1 Ricky Nwagbara.
Replacements: 16 Etienne van Dyk, 17 Wikus Groenewald, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Imraan Andrews, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Tyron Scholtz, 22 Adriaan van der Bank, 23 Cornel Smit.

Related Posts

« »