DHL WP U19 shuffle forward pack

Sep 1 • General News • 1293 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP U19 shuffle forward pack

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

DHL Western Province U19 coach, Nazeem Adams, has made a number of changes to his forward pack to face the Cell C Sharks U19 at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Captain Ernst van Rhyn moves from flank to lock in place of the injured Cobus Wiese, with Juarno Augustus starting at No.8 and Zain Davids shifting to the side of the scrum.

There are two changes to the front row, with Adams opting to rotate his props, as tighthead Lee-Marvin Mazibuko and loosehead Wikus Groenwald get a chance to start, with Ricky Nwagbara and Carlu Sadie on the replacements bench.

There are just two changes to the backline as a fit-again Jondre Williams takes his place at scrumhalf, and Ryan Muller gets an opportunity to start on the right wing.

There are three new faces on the replacements bench as well, with SA Schools flyhalf Damian Willemse, loose forward Johan Visser and lock Jacobus Swart, all in line to make their DHL Western Province U19 debut, should they be called upon.

Adams said that following his team’s first defeat of the season last week, it is important that they respond with a clinical performance against the Cell C Sharks U19.

“It was disappointing to lose last week, but things do not get any easier against a Cell C Sharks U19 team that pushed us all the way when we met in Durban earleir in the season.

“We will have to lift our standards considerably if we are to return to winning ways, so we will need a big effort from all of the players,” he said.

DHL Western Province U19: 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Ryan Muller, 13 David Brits, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Tumi Mogoje, 10 Jordan Chait, 9 Jondre Williams, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Zain Davids, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Jordan Sesink-Clee, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Matt Wiseman, 1 Wikus Groenewald.
Replacements: 16 Shane Farmer, 17 Ricky Nwagbara, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Jacobus Swart, 20 Johan Visser, 21 Brandon Salomo, 22 Damian Willemse, 23 Nico Leonard.

Related Posts

« »