DHL WP U21s head to Bloemfontein

Jul 11 • General News • 2155 Views • Comments Off on DHL WP U21s head to Bloemfontein

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The DHL Western Province Under-21 team will open their 2013 campaign against the Cheetahs U21s in Bloemfontein on Saturday (kick-off 15h00), with flank Josh Katzen leading his troops into battle and Cheslin Kolbe named at fullback.

Katzen, a star performer for the WP Under-21s in 2012, will lead the John Dobson-coached side this year and is one of ten players fronting up from last year’s final.

Joining Katzen in the pack is prop Oliver Kebble, lock Jean Kleyn and No.8 Rayn Smid, whilst backs Godlen Masimla, Tim Swiel, Kobus van Wyk, Patrick Howard, Dillyn Leyds and Cheslin Kolbe are also back for more in WP’s opening game of the 2013 Provincial Under-21 tournament.

The selection of Kolbe, at fullback, is sure to attract plenty of attention, the fleet-footed SA Under-20 and Sevens star having impressed during Western Province’s Vodacom Cup campaign earlier this year.

Kolbe began last year in the WP Under-19 team, before progressing to the WP U21 ranks, and he will be joined in the team this weekend by the likes of Freddie Kirsten, Niel Oelofse, Jurie van Vuuren, Eital Bredenkamp, Jean Nel and JP Lewis – all members of last year’s victorious U19 squad.

“We’re really looking forward to the start of the season. We have been working hard in our build-up and we’re excited at the prospect of what this team is capable of achieving,” said coach John Dobson ahead of the weekend.

“We have a tough start – heading to Bloemfontein first up,” admitted Dobson, “but our goal, given that we have four home games coming up after this weekend, is to start well to put us in a good position come the halfway mark of the season.”

Saturday’s match, which kicks-off at 15h00, will take place at Bloemfontein’s Shimla Park.

The DHL Western Province Under-21 team to take on the Cheetahs is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe
14. Dillyn Leyds
13. Patrick Howard
12. Kobus van Wyk
11. Devon Williams
10. Tim Swiel
9. Godlen Masimla
8. Rayn Smid
7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
6. Josh Katzen (captain)
5. Jean Kleyn
4. Carel du Preez
3. Justin Ackerman
2. Freddie Kirsten
1. Oliver Kebble

16. Renier Marais
17. Niel Oelofse
18. Jurie van Vuuren
19. Cobus Nel
20. Eital Bredenkamp
21. Jean Nel
22. JP Lewis

Referee: Lusanda Jam

Related Posts

« »