Dick Muir makes 6 changes to Lions

Apr 15 • International • 1546 Views • Comments Off on Dick Muir makes 6 changes to Lions

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Carlos Spencer

Carlos Spencer

The relegation of Carlos Spencer to the bench is one of six changes coach Dick Muir made to the Lions’ starting team for Saturday’s match against the Sharks at Coca-Cola Park.

Kick-off is at 17:05.

Flyhalf Spencer, who has not been on top of his game in recent weeks, is replaced by Herkie Kruger in one of three backline changes which sees Marius Delport in at centre for Walter Venter who was injured last weekend, and the return of Tonderai Chavhanga on the wing in place of Wigan Pekeur.

Up front, loosehead JC Janse van Rensburg starts in place of Heinke van der Merwe who drops to the bench, while Hans van Dyk starts at hooker in a new-look front row. Derick Minnie makes way for Todd Clever at No 8.

Delport, Kruger and Van Dyk as well as scrumhalf replacement Chris Jonck were not on the Australasia tour.

15. Michael Killian, 14. Tonderai Chavhanga, 13. Marius Delport, 12. Doppies la Grange, 11. Wandile Mjekevu, 10. Herkie Kruger, 9. Jano Vermaak, 8. Todd Clever, 7. Wikus van Heerden, 6. Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Nico Luus, 3. Gert Muller, 2. Hans van Dyk, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg

Substitutes: 16. Hannes Franklin, 17. Heinke van der Merwe, 18. Willem Stoltz, 19. Derick Minnie, 20. Chris Jonck, 21. Deon van Rensburg, 22. Carlos Spencer

15. Patrick Lambie, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Riaan Swanepoel, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Andy Goode, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. John Smit (captain)

Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Tendai Mtawarira, 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19. Alistair Hargreaves, 20. Rory Kockott, 21. Andries Strauss, 22. Lwazi Mvovo


Related Posts

« »