Dramatic finish sees England U20 secure semi-final spot

Jun 9 • General News, International • 1038 Views • Comments Off on Dramatic finish sees England U20 secure semi-final spot

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England sealed a dramatic 20-19 victory over Australia in their final pool game of the World Rugby U20 Championship to advance through to the semi-finals of the tournament.

Australia went into halftime with a six-point lead following a converted Sione Tuipulotu try and eight points from the boot of Harrison Goddard.

Gabriel Ibitoye scored his fifth try of the tournament which Max Malins converted while Theo Brophy Clews also sent over a penalty for England.

Exeter’s Marcus Street bundled over and Malins’ conversion put England in front, however, Australia’s Harry Nucifora kicked a penalty for 19-17.

A Malins penalty with two minutes left won the game and England will progress to face South Africa in the semi-finals on Tuesday 13 June (live on ITV4, KO 3 pm BST)

“You’ve just got to give the guys huge credit, they know how to win games,” said England forwards coach Louis Deacon.

“We didn’t get some of the decisions we probably deserved, but they stuck with it and experience got us through. It reminded me a lot of those last few minutes against Ireland in the Six Nations, it was a similar sort of feeling, the boys were outstanding.”

Captain Zach Mercer said: “Full credit to Australia who pushed us all the way and I thought we were outstanding today. We showed once again how hard we work for each other and I’d like to dedicate the victory to the guys that have had to leave the tournament because of injury.

“We will celebrate the victory and then focus on South Africa who is a strong side so I’m sure that will be another tough game.”

England U20:
15. Tom Parton (London Irish)
14. Paolo Odogwu (Sale Sharks)
13. Will Butler (Worcester Warriors)
12. Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish)
11. Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)
10. Max Malins (Saracens)
9. Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby)
1. Ollie Dawe (Bristol Rugby)
2. Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby)
3. Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs)
5. Jack Nay (Saracens)
6. Dino Lamb (Harlequins)
7. Ben Earl (Saracens)
8. Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) captain

16. Joe Mullis (Gloucester Rugby)
17. Ralph Adams-Hale (Saracens)
18. Ciaran Knight (Gloucester Rugby)
19. Justin Clegg (Worcester Warriors)
20. Max Davies (Newcastle Falcons)
21. Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby)
22. Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints)
23. Darren Atkins (Bath Rugby)

Tries: Ibitoye, Street
Conversions: Malins (2)
Penalties: Malins, Brophy Clews

England’s 2017 World Rugby U20 Championship fixtures:

England 74 v 14 Samoa: Wednesday 31 May – Avchala Stadium
England 34 v 22 Wales: Sunday 4 June – Avchala Stadium
England 20 v 19 Australia: Thursday 8 June –  Avchala Stadium
England v South Africa: Tuesday 13 June – 3 pm (BST) – Mikheil Meskhi Stadium
Final/third place play-off (Sunday 18 June) Details TBC

Related Posts

« »