Emirate Lions name their team for Cheetahs clash

Apr 23 • General News, Super Rugby • 1799 Views • Comments Off on Emirate Lions name their team for Cheetahs clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)



Emirates Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has announced his team for Saturday’s clash against the Toyota Cheetahs at Emirates Airline Park.


Ackermann has made just three changes to the starting Emirates Lions side which beat the Cell C Sharks a fortnight ago.


In the forwards, Armand van der Merwe will start at hooker while Ruan Dreyer has been drafted in at tighthead prop.


The backline sees just one change with Courtnall Skosan starting at left wing having recovered from injury.


On the bench, MB Lusaseni also moves into the match day side having recovered from his long-term injury. This is his first inclusion in the 2015 competition.


Unfortunately Derick Minnie drops out of the match day 23 as a result of an injury he sustained during Tuesday’s training session. Minnie has undergone surgery on his knee and will unfortunately be out of action for the remainder of the season.


The match will kick off at 17h05 and will be preceded by the Vodacom Cup clash between the Xerox Golden Lions and Leopards at 14h30 local time.


Tickets are still available via Lionsrugby.computicket.com from just R40.


15. Andries Coetzee

14. Ruan Combrinck

13. Lionel Mapoe

12. Harold Vorster

11. Courtnall Skosan

10. Elton Jantjies

9.  Faf de Klerk

8.  Warren Whiteley (c)

7.  Warwick Tecklenburg

6.  Jaco Kriel

5.  Franco Mostert

4.  Andries Ferreira

3.  Ruan Dreyer

2.  Armand van der Merwe

1.  Jacques van Rooyen


16. Robbie Coetzee

17. Corne Fourie

18. Julian Redelinghuys

19. MB Lusaseni

20. Robert Kruger

21. Ross Cronje

22. Marnitz Boshoff

23. Howard Mnisi


Related Posts

« »