England Women name side to face France

Jul 5 • Europe, General News, International, Womens Rugby • 1621 Views • Comments Off on England Women name side to face France

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England Women have named their match-day 23 for their second game in the Women’s Rugby Super Series against France on Tuesday.

Following a disappointing 52-17 defeat to Canada on Friday, England have made seven changes to the starting line-up.

Lauren Cattell comes in at outside centre while Fiona Pocock, Laura Keates, Alex Matthews and Poppy Leitch, who all started on the bench  against Canada, earn a call up to the starting XV tomorrow night.

Zoe Aldcroft and Sarah Bern are on the bench and may earn their first senior cap, while captain Sarah Hunter earns her 80th.

The match kicks off at 10pm BST on Tuesday night at the Regional Athletic Complex, Salt Lake City, and is broadcast live on TheRugbyChannel.TV.

England and France last played in the final game of the 2016 Six Nations, where France, playing at home, narrowly saw off England 17-12 to clinch the title.

Lead coach Scott Bemand said: “We have regrouped since the Canada game and are ready to face France, a side we know well. We were disappointed by our performance last time as we didn’t adapt well enough on the day.

“We have looked at what we need to improve, as well as the things we did well, and we want to make amends for the Six Nations result in March.”

England Women games, Women’s Rugby Super Series, KO times 10.00pm BST, and all games broadcast live on TheRugbyChannel.TV

  • v Canada 1 July (52-17)
    Tries: Mason, Wood, Blackburn
    Conversion: Large
  • England v France 5 July
  • England v USA 9 July

England Women match-day 23 v France

  1. Fiona Pocock (Richmond) (27 caps)
    14. Lydia Thompson (Worcester) (23 caps)
    13. Lauren Cattell (Saracens) (18 caps)
    12. Ceri Large (Worcester) (48 caps)
    11. Katie Mason (Bristol) (11 caps)
    10. Amber Reed (Bristol) (30 caps)
    9. La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park) (55 caps)


  1. Rochelle Clark (Worcester) (111 caps)
    2. Amy Cokayne (Lichfield) (14 caps)
    3. Laura Keates (Worcester) (50 caps)
    4. Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield) (32 caps)
    5. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park) (92 caps)
    6. Alex Matthews (Richmond) (22 caps)
    7. Poppy Leitch (Bristol) (4 caps)
    8. Sarah Hunter (Bristol) (79 caps) (c)

16. Lark Davies (Worcester) (2 caps)
17. Victoria Cornborough (Richmond) (15 caps)
18. Sarah Bern (Bristol) (uncapped)
19. Zoe Aldrcoft (Darlington Mowden Park) (uncapped)
20. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol) (18 caps)
21. Bianca Blackburn (Worcester) (14 caps)
22. Millie Wood (Lichfield) (1 cap)
23. Lotte Clapp (Saracens) (8 caps)

Related Posts

« »