EP Kings keep on winning in Absa Under-19 Provincial Championship

Aug 16 • General News • 1572 Views • Comments Off on EP Kings keep on winning in Absa Under-19 Provincial Championship

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The EP Kings continued their excellent form in the Absa Under-19 Provincial Championship on Saturday when they outplayed the Cell C Sharks 34-24 in Durban, claiming their sixth consecutive win and beating all the other teams in the first half of the competition.

They top the log which sees the Toyota Free State and Cell C Sharks teams propping up the rest of the teams. The Leopards, currently in fifth, shocked the Vodacom Blue Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, scoring 19 unanswered points in the second half to win 32-17. DHL Western Province missed a late conversion to get past Toyota Free State, who scored five tries to four in a thrilling 29-29 draw at DHL Newlands.

The first round of B-Division matches also kicked off and all four home sides lost. In Kimberley, Boland beat ORC Griquas 20-19, in Kempton Park the Steval Pumas beat Hino Valke 39-31, the Down Touch Griffons squeezed past Border 18-12 in East London and in George, Limpopo Blue Bulls won 24-19 against SWD Eagles.

Run of play commentary on all the matches can be accessed by clicking on the result of each match.


Cell C Sharks 24 (14), EP Kings 34 (15)


Cell C Sharks 24 (14). Tries: Cameron McNab (2), Morne Joubert, Tristan Blewett. Tristan Tedder (2).

EP Kings 34 (15). Tries: Athi Mayinje, Hayden Tharratt, Lusanda Badiyana, Yamkela Nyalambisa, Penalty Try. Conversions: Michael Brink (2), Jordan Koekemoer. Penalty: Jordan Koekemoer.

DHL Western Province 29 (24), Toyota Free State 29 (14)


DHL Western Province 29 (24). Tries: Aidynn Cupido, Duncan Saal, Iver Aanhuizen, Percy Mngadi. Conversions: Tiaan Swanepoel (3). Penalty: Tiaan Swanepoel.

Toyota Free State 29 (14). Tries: Carlo De Nysschen, Dale Koopman, Julian Jordaan, Robin Stevens, Ruan Wasserman. Conversions: Julian Jordaan (2).

Vodacom Blue Bulls 17 (17), Leopards 32 (13)


Vodacom Blue Bulls 17 (17). Tries: Dean van der Westhuizen, Divan Rossouw, Franco Naude. Conversion: Kurt Webster.

Leopards 32 (13). Tries: Siyabonga Masuku, Wilbri Gunter, Zweli Silaule (3). Conversions: Barend Janse van Rensburg, Siyabonga Masuku. Penalty: Barend Janse van Rensburg.


ORC Griquas 19 (14), Boland 20 (7).


ORC Griquas 19 (14). Tries: JP Steyn, Martin Visagie, Pieter Oosthuizen. Conversions: Ruve Louw (2).

Boland 20 (7). Tries: Austin Hendricks, Caleb Louw, Colin April. Conversion: Austin Hendricks. Penalty: Austin Hendricks.

Hino Valke 31 (10), Steval Pumas 39 (25).


Hino Valke 31 (10). Tries: Bercho Botha, Henning Buitendag, Karabo Makotane, Ruan Kotze, Stephen Pelser. Conversions: Conrad Engelbrecht (3).

Steval Pumas 39 (25). Tries: Andre Mathews, Ian Truter (2), Kobus Coetzee, Ruben Opperman. Conversions: Jean Els (4). Penalties: Jean Els (2).

Border 12 (9), Down Touch Griffons 18 (3).


Border 12 (9). Penalties: Justin Opperman (4).

Down Touch Griffons 18 (3). Tries: Domenic Smit, Siya Ngxesha. Conversion: Andre Potgieter. Penalties: Andre Potgieter (2).

SWD Eagles 19 (5), Limpopo Blue Bulls 24 (10).


SWD Eagles 19 (5). Tries: Caae-Jay Ferendale, Clayton Kiewitz, Justin Williams. Conversions: Nathan Kemp (2).

Limpopo Blue Bulls 24 (10). Tries: Branley Odendaal, Christiaan Wessels, Dean Steinberg, Heinrich du Plessis. Conversions: Jeandre Rossouw (2)

Related Posts

« »