EP Kings still on top, Free State in first win in Absa Under-19 competition

Aug 23 • General News • 1607 Views • Comments Off on EP Kings still on top, Free State in first win in Absa Under-19 competition

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Eastern Province Kings Under-19 team remained top of the Absa Under-19 Provincial Championships this weekend even though they had a bye.

With all teams now having played six matches, the Kings still top the table, The Vodacom Blue Bulls moved past DHL Western Province into second in Pretoria on Saturday by defeating the Cape side 41-32, while the Toyota Free State secured a first win by beating Leopards 51-28 in Potchefstroom. Free State’s Ruan Wasserman contributed 26 points in the match, with two tries, two penalties and five conversions.

The Cell C Sharks are still winless in the competition, this time losing out 36-18 to the visiting Xerox Golden Lions in Durban.

Vodacom Blue Bulls 41 (20), DHL Western Province 32 (13).


Vodacom Blue Bulls 41 (20). Tries: Brendan Owen, Coneree Poole, Dean van der Westhuizen, Divan Rossouw, Franco Naude (2). Conversions: Tinus de Beer (4). Penalty: Tinus de Beer.

DHL Western Province 32 (13). Tries: Eddie Venter, Jaco Willemse, Mitchell Carstens. Conversions: Aidynn Cupido, Tiaan Swanepoel (2). Penalties: Tiaan Swanepoel (2).

Cell C Sharks 18 (6), Xerox Golden Lions 36 (24).


Cell C Sharks 18 (6). Tries: Morne Joubert, Tristan Blewett. Conversions: Tristan Blewett. Penalties: Tristan Tedder (2)

Xerox Golden Lions 36 (24). Tries: James Venter, Jaydrin Kotze, Johann Vermaak, Juandre Michau, Kenny van Niekerk, Mac Muller. Conversions: Hendrik Mulder (3).

Leopards 28 (7), Toyota Free State 51 (31).


Leopards 28 (7). Tries: Eon Buhrmann, Francois Stemmet, Milani Lubelwana, Zweli Silaule. Conversions: Barend Janse van Rensburg (4).

Toyota Free State 51 (31). Tries: Alex Jonker, Charl Pretorius (2), De Wet Bezuidenhout (2), Ruan Wasserman (2). Conversions: Ruan Wasserman (5). Penalties: Ruan Wasserman (2).

  • In the B-Division, there were wins for Hino Valke (17-8 over Border in East London), Steval Pumas (41-17 over SWD) in George, ORC Griquas (36-17 over Down Touch Griffons in Kimberley) and Boland (41-37 over Limpopo Blue Bulls in Polokwane).

With these wins in round two, Steval Pumas and Boland remained the only undefeated teams in the competition, while SWD and Border yet to register a win. The Pumas are top of the log with two bonus point wins.

The scorers in the various matches are:

ORC Griquas 36 (15), Down Touch Griffons 17 (10).


ORC Griquas 36 (15). Tries: Tries: Arthur Jones, Brandon de Melim, Damian van den Bergh, Gerhard Holtzhausen, Martin Visagie. Conversions: Wilfred Bowers (4). Penalty: Wilfred Bowers.

Down Touch Griffons 17 (10). Tries: Domenic Smit, Nick Fortein. Conversions: Domenic Smit (2). Penalty: Domenic Smit.

SWD Eagles 17 (5), Steval Pumas 41 (24).


SWD Eagles 17 (5). Tries: Reinhadt Stears, Shaun Booysen, Shelwyn Dyssel. Conversion: Winrey Stoffels.

Steval Pumas 41 (24). Tries: Ettiene Matthys, Ian Truter (3), Jean Els, Jean-Pierre Snyman, Ruben Opperman. Conversions: Jean Els (3).

Border 8 (3), Hino Valke 17 (10).


Border 8 (3). Try: Siphelele Zono. Penalty: Nathan Church.

Hino Valke 17 (10). Tries: Ruan Kotze, Stephen Pelser. Conversions: Conrad Engelbrecht (2). Penalty: Conrad Engelbrecht.

Limpopo Blue Bulls 37 (20), Boland 41 (10).


Limpopo Blue Bulls 37 (20), Tries: Branley Odendaal (2), Jozua Naude (2). Conversions: Dane Kotze (2), Simon Bezuidenhout (2). Penalties: Dane Kotze, Simon Bezuidenhout.

Boland 41 (10). Tries: Dylan Cloete (2), Enzo Foutie (3), Stephan Borman (2). Conversions: Dylan Cloete, Austin Hendricks (2).

Related Posts

« »