Fabian Juries rejoins Springbok Sevens

May 6 • International, World Rugby • 2594 Views • Comments Off on Fabian Juries rejoins Springbok Sevens

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Fabian Juries

Fabian Juries

Fabian Juries, South Africa’s most experienced Sevens player, has rejoined the Springbok Sevens team and will be available for selection for their two remaining IRB Sevens World Series tournaments in England and Scotland.

In terms of the agreement between Western Province and Paul Treu, the national Sevens coach, Juries will also be available to accompany the Springboks Sevens to the Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India in October.

Juries has joined the squad in Stellenbosch where they are busy with preparations for the last two Series tournaments later this month at Twickenham and Murrayfield. He also played in a warm-up match on Thursday between the Springbok Sevens training squad and the SA Sevens Emerging team at the Danie Craven Stadium.

Treu was understandably pleased to welcome the mercurial Juries back to the Sevens fold.

“He adds a lot of experience and I’m pleased that he’s able to help out because there is still some doubt over the match fitness of Renfred Dazel and Paul Delport,” Treu said.

“Fabba will obviously return to Western Province if they need him, but I’m hoping he will be able to stay with us.”.

Juries made the last of his 42 tournament appearances at Murrayfield in 2008, before joining former Sevens teammates Kabamba Floors and Danwell Demas at the Free State Cheetahs. He made the move to the Newlands-based Western Province side at the beginning of the 2010 season.

In keeping with Treu’s style of affording young players opportunities to train with the national Sevens squad, young outside centre Siyanda Grey who played for the Eastern Province Vodacom Cup team this year, will spend the next few days sharpening his skills with the squad.

The IRB Sevens World series comes to a close later this month with the Twickenham tournament on May 22-23 and Murrayfield a week later. South Africa won their first Series title last season.

The Springbok Sevens side leave for England on May 17.


Related Posts

« »