Fiji win Glasgow to lead World Series

May 10 • Blitz Bokke, General News, International, Sevens Rugby, Sevens World Series, World Rugby • 1791 Views • Comments Off on Fiji win Glasgow to lead World Series

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Fiji moved to the top of the HSBC Sevens World Series standings after a 24-17 victory over defending Glasgow Sevens champions New Zealand in an enthralling final at Scotstoun Stadium.

Apisai Domilailai scored twice in the victory, their fourth of the season, with the win moving Ben Ryan’s side ahead of South Africa and New Zealand in the race for the 16th World Series title with one round remaining in London.

Isake Katonibau and two tries from Semi Kunatani were enough for Fiji earlier as they beat a spirited USA side, having earlier proved too strong for then leaders South Africa 15-0. Kunatani and Savenaca Rawaca scored tries in that win, a result which meant the Blitzboks failed to make a Cup semi final for the first time all season. Rieko Ioane scored the only try in New Zealands 5-0 win over England, the lowest scoring semi-final for 13 years in wet conditions in Glasgow.

Earlier Perry Baker was the star for the USA as he ran the entire length of the pitch to help Mike Friday’s side come from 7-0 down and record a 14-7 win. The result meant New Zealand qualified for the Olympic Games in Rio, joining South Africa and Fiji who achieved the same on day one.


Werner Kok and Ruhan Nel scored tries for South Africa as Neil Powell’s side won the Plate by beating Scotland 12-10 to collect 13 series points, having earlier dropped from first place in the overall series standings. Damian Hoyland gave Scotland, chasing their best-ever finish in a series, the chance to take the match to extra time sudden death with a try in the last play of the match before a missed conversion from Russell Weir who hit the post.

South Africa’s captain Kyle Brown added after the match: “Playing Scotland in Scotland is one of the hardest thing you can do. I don’t know what it is, perhaps it’s the haggis.”

Nel scored a hat-trick as South Africa beat Australia 21-12 to reach the Bowl final while hosts Scotland had Joe Nayacavou to thank for his last-minute try against last year’s runners-up Canada to book their place in the final.


Luke Morgan scored two tries as Wales came from 7-0 behind to beat Argentina 12-7 and win the Bowl, winning all three of their matches on day two at Scotstoun Stadium.

Morgan, the Welsh hero, said: “It’s been up and down but that’s a great ending to go down to Twickenham with. It’s all about consistency with us but everyone played well as a 12.”

Earlier Franco Sabato, Santiago Alvarez and Ramiro Moyano scored second-half tries to give Argentina a safe passage through to the Bowl final despite Kenya’s Collins Injera scoring his 199th career try in the 24-7 defeat. Kristian Phillips scored in Wales’ 5-0 win over Samoa while Ramiro Moyano scored twice for Argentina in their quarter final win over Russia before they beat France 12-5 to reach the final.


Samoa Toloa scored twice in Samoa’s22-12 Shield final win over Portugal, having earlier added a double in their 24-14 win over Japan. Portugal earlier beat Russia 10-7 with Aderito Esteves also scoring two tries.

“It was disappointing for us here,” said Portugal captain Pedro Leal. “We now need to make sure we maintain our status as a core side in London and we need to play both halves as brothers.”

Courtesy of World Rugby

Related Posts

« »