Five changes for DHL WP Under-21s

Aug 8 • General News • 2202 Views • Comments Off on Five changes for DHL WP Under-21s

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The DHL Western Province Under-21 team will go into Saturday’s Provincial Under-21 match against Border at DHL Newlands (kick-off 14h45) with a side showing five changes from their last outing.

DHL WP recorded an impressive 14-6 win over the Blue Bulls U21s two weeks ago, but injuries and senior Absa Currie Cup call-ups have forced coach John Dobson’s hand from a selection viewpoint.

Centre Pat Howard will make his first Currie Cup start on Saturday, which sees regular U21 centre-mate Kobus van Wyk shift from inside to outside centre. New man Kyle Lombard will start at inside centre in the only other change to the backline, with John-Ben Kotze joining the matchday 22 on the bench.

Up front, regular No.8 Rayn Smid and skipper Josh Katzen miss out because of injuries, with Carel du Preez shifting from lock to No.8 and Eital Bredenkamp coming in at No.6 (and Justin Benn warming the bench).

Hooker Stephan Coetzee will captain the U21s this week, whilst versatile forward Jurie van Vuuren will start in the No.4 jersey vacated by Du Preez’s switch.

Said Dobson: “It’s always a blow to lose your captain and a guy like Rayn Smid is important for us – around the park and as a line-out option. However, we are blessed to have a lot of depth at loose forward and both Eital Bredenkamp and Justin Benn deserve some more game time.”

The WP Under-21s have won two out of three games thus far – losing away to Free State in the opening week’s action – whilst Border are yet to register a win in 2013 (from four starts). Dobson, however, refused to look at the form-book ahead of the weekend

“Border are always a tough team to beat,” the WP Under-21 boss told “They’ve had some close losses this season, so we’re not kidding ourselves.

“Saturday is a big challenge, especially when you take into account that we’ve made a few changes to our team this week. But we have an exciting group of players and we always (also) knew that senior Currie Cup call-ups would be a reality, so this is a great opportunity to test out our depth.”

Saturday’s match, the second of two curtain-raisers to the Western Province-Blue Bulls Absa Currie Cup match (at 17h05), will get underway at 14h45. Tickets can be purchased at

The DHL Western Province Under-21 team to take on Border is as follows:

15. Dillyn Leyds
14. JP Lewis
13. Kobus van Wyk
12. Kyle Lombard
11. Devon Williams
10. Tim Swiel
9. Godlen Masimla
8. Carel du Preez
7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
6. Eital Bredenkamp
5. Jean Kleyn
4. Jurie van Vuuren
3. Justin Ackerman
2. Stephan Coetzee (captain)
1. Oliver Kebble

16. Freddie Kirsten
17. Niel Oelofse
18. Justin Benn
19. Cobus Nel
20. Jean Nel
21. John-Ben Kotze
22. Craig Barry

Referee: Lusanda Jam

Related Posts

« »