FNB Tuks Young Guns win the Young Guns Final

Apr 12 • General News, Varsity & Club, Varsity Cup • 3692 Views • Comments Off on FNB Tuks Young Guns win the Young Guns Final

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


FNB Tuks Young Guns win the Young Guns Final, defeating FNB UJ Young Guns 47-24

FNB Tuks outmuscled FNB UJ 47-24 at UJ Stadium to win the Young Guns Final on Tuesday 12 April.

Conditions were perfect on Tuesday afternoon in Johannesburg, as FNB Tuks met FNB UJ for the 2016 Young Guns Final.


FNB Tuks were off to a perfect start when Jordan Holgate crashed through beneath the posts for FNB Tuks’ first score of the match. FNB UJ soon equalised with a try of their own in the 11th minute, by No. 8 Morney Moos. The score was 8-8 going into the 20th minute strategy break.


But in the 32nd minute FNB Tuks’ possession counted, as they scored their second try of the match, as flyhalf Christo Hamman broke through the FNB UJ defence. Hamman scored his second and FNB Tuks’ third just minutes later, sending his time into half time with a 21-8 lead.

FNB Tuks used their wings well and enjoyed most of the possession again in the opening minutes of the second half. They spent a lot of time in FNB UJ’s 22 and pressure told as three unanswered tries put FNB Tuks 39-8 ahead with 26 minutes to play.


FNB UJ eventually managed to get their hands on the ball and great distribution to the backline set up the pacey Odwa Nkunjana for a try.


Replacement Tristan Eve scored an opportunistic try after a bit of quick thinking at the lineout and FNB Tuks were suddenly on the back foot, but still leading 39-24.

But a try by replacement hooker Johan Grobbelaar in the 72nd minute put the result beyond doubt. FNB Tuks were too strong for FNB UJ, winning the Young Guns Final 47-24.

Man of the Match: Hendre Stassen (FNB Tuks)


FNB UJ: 24

Tries: Morney Moos, Odwa Nkunjana, Tristan Eve

Cons: Eduard Fouche (3)

FNB Tuks: 47


Tries: Jordan Holgate (2), Christo Hamman (2), Jan-Henning Campher, Jaco Bezuidenhout, Johan Grobbelaar
Cons: Christo Hamman (4)

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns: 15 Ivan Smit, 14 Mervano da Silva, 13 Heino Bezuidenhout, 12 Jordan Holgate, 11 Ciaran Dayaram, 10 Boeta Hamman, 9 Raegan Oranje, 8 Denzil Hill, 7 Jaco Bezuidenhout, 6 Eduan Lubbe, 5 Hendre Stassen, 4 Sam Mitchell, 3 Jaco Holtzhausen, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Franco van der Berg.

Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Ruben van Heerdan, 19 Dean van der Westhuizen, 20 Stephan Enslin, 21 Sentle Lehoko, 22 Brendan Owen, 23 Tiny Mukhari


FNB UJ Young Guns: 15 Curtis Jonas, 14 Odwa Nkunjana, 13 Johann Vermaak, 12 Johannes van Tonder, 11 Vuyo Shongwe, 10 Eduard Fouche, 9 Wynand Botha, 8 Morney Moos, 7 Juandre Michau, 6 James Venter, 5 Kevin du Randt, 4 Adriaan Bester, 3 Sarel Smith, 2 Le Roux Baard, 1 Hannriel Coetzee

Replacements:  16 Willem du Plessis, 17 Johan Meyer, 18 Thokozani Skhosana, 19 Martin Mangwiro, 20 Tristan Eve, 21 Morne van der Berg, 22 Jonathan Koyana, 23 Stephen Bashera

Related Posts

« »