Force named for Christchurch Crusade

Mar 22 • General News, International • 1552 Views • Comments Off on Force named for Christchurch Crusade

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Road Safety Western Force have made several changes to the side to take on the Crusaders this Friday in Round Five at AMI Stadium in Christchurch at 2:35 PM AWST on Friday, 24 March.

In the forward pack Ben Daley comes back into the starting loosehead position, with Pek Cowan moving to the bench, Wallaby hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau earns his first start and excitement machine Isireli Naisarani is set to make his run-on Vodafone Super Rugby debut at blindside flanker. Tighthead Jermaine Ainsley also returns to the starting XV.

Experienced utility back Marcel Brache makes his first appearance of the season at inside centre. Luke Morahan shifts to fullback with young outside back Alex Newsome named on the right wing for his maiden start.

Flyhalf Jono Lance has been named to captain the Road Safety Western Force for the first time and becomes the 11th player to skipper the West Australian side.

Club legend Matt Hodgson will make his return from a hamstring injury off the bench while 208cm lock Richie Arnold (twin brother of Wallabies lock Rory) is in line for his long-awaited debut.

Head Coach Dave Wessels says that the match against the Crusaders is an exciting opportunity for his team to win away from home against a challenging opposition.

“Playing New Zealand teams in New Zealand is the ultimate test of our progress over the last few months. There’s great energy in the group and we’re looking forward to Friday night.”

2017 Vodafone Super Rugby – Round Five

Crusaders v Road Safety Western Force
AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Friday, 24 March 2017
Kick-off: 2:35 PM AWST

Road Safety Western Force Team


  1. Ben Daley
  2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
  3. Jermaine Ainsley
  4. Ross Haylett-Petty
  5. Matt Philip
  6. Isi Naisarani
  7. Kane Koteka
  8. Richard Hardwick
  9. Ryan Louwrens
  10. Jono Lance (C)
  11. Chance Peni
  12. Marcel Brache
  13. Curtis Rona
  14. Alex Newsome
  15. Luke Morahan


  1. Heath Tessmann
  2. Pek Cowan
  3. Tetera Faulkner
  4. Richie Arnold*
  5. Matt Hodgson
  6. Michael Ruru
  7. Ian Prior
  8. Robbie Coleman


*Denotes possible Super Rugby Debut

Related Posts

« »