Forced named to tame Lions

Apr 28 • General News, Super Rugby • 2662 Views • Comments Off on Forced named to tame Lions

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Road Safety Western Force have made a number of injury-forced changes to their side that take on the Lions this Saturday, 29 April at the Force Field (nib Stadium).

Both Pek Cowan and Brynard Stander return to the starting side after impressive performances off the bench last week.

Former Australian U20s representative Alex Newsome also returns to the starting XV, replacing the injured Luke Morahan (cheekbone). Curtis Rona slips back into the familiar outside center jersey as Marcel Brache moves to fullback, replacing Wallaby Dane Haylett-Petty (hamstring).

Exciting Future Force Foundation member James Verity-Amm is set to make his Vodafone Super Rugby debut on the right wing, becoming the sixth Future Force debutant in club history and the third this season.

In the reserves, Richard Hardwick and Jono Lance will look to bring plenty of tempi when called upon and former Springbok Peter Grant is set to make his first appearance of the season from the bench.

Road Safety Western Force Head Coach Dave Wessels says the Lions are another exciting challenge for his side and the team will look to bounce back from the match last week.

“The Lions are obviously a very well balanced side with the ability to mix up their attack. They’ve been together a long time as a team and we’ll need to be at our best if we hope to break them down.”

Last week’s crowd of 14,089 was one of the largest in Australian Super Rugby this year and Wessels says it’s a testament to the incredible support in Western Australia.

“It meant so much to us to have so many of the Sea of Blue at nib Stadium last week and we look forward to seeing them again this Saturday.”

2017 Vodafone Super Rugby – Round Ten

Road Safety Western Force v Lions
Force Field (nib Stadium), Perth
Saturday, 29 April 2017
Kick-off: 7:55 PM AWST

Road Safety Western Force Team
1. Pek Cowan
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
3. Tetera Faulkner
4. Lewis Carmichael
5. Ross Haylett-Petty
6. Brynard Stander
7. Matt Hodgson (C)
8. Isi Naisarani
9. Ian Prior
10. Luke Burton
11. Alex Newsome
12. Bill Meakes
13. Curtis Rona
14. James Verity-Amm*
15. Marcel Brache

  1. Heath Tessmann (VC)
    17. Ben Daley
    18. Shambeckler Vui
    19. Onehunga Havilli
    20. Richard Hardwick
    21. Mitch Short**
    22. Jono Lance
    23. Peter Grant

*Denotes Super Rugby Debut

**Potential Super Rugby Debut

Related Posts

« »