Gary Botha back in blue to lead Bulls against Elephants

Jun 30 • National • 1979 Views • Comments Off on Gary Botha back in blue to lead Bulls against Elephants

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Gary Botha

Gary Botha is back at the helm of the Vodacom Blue Bulls and will lead the team on the field in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, when they take on the Eastern Province Elephants in a compulsory friendly.
Botha last played for the Blue Bulls in 2007 and missed the 2008 and 2009 Currie Cup seasons due to commitments with Harlequins in the English Premiership.

He is joined by a number of former players now back with the daisy on the chest.

Jaco van der Westhuyzen (Japan), Juandré Kruger (England) and Jacques-Louis Potgieter (Free State) is also back in light blue, while Hayden Groepes (Boland) is on loan from the south and gets a chance to impress. Bees Roux (Griquas) also changed into a lighter shade of blue.

Numerous Vodacom Cup-players will make their debuts for the Currie Cup side, including Vainon Willis, Okkie Kruger, CJ Stander, Danie Faasen and Clayton Blommetjies.

The team is: Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Vainon Willis, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer, Hayden Groepes, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Ruan Snyman, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Derick Kuün, Okkie Kruger, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Fudge Mabeta, Werner Kruger, Gary Botha (c), Jaco Engels. Replacements: Bandise Maku, Bees Roux, Jeandré Kruger, CJ Stander, Danie Faasen, Francois Brummer, Clayton Blommetjies.

●The u.21-side to play Boland at the Boland Stadium on Saturday has also being announced. The side have some players with Super 14 experience in their ranks, as well as members of the national sevens team.

The team is: Justin van Staden, Deon Helberg, Ernst Dinkelman, Simpiwe Mtinkulu, Tom Seabela, Marnitz Boshoff (c), Westley Moolman, Jono Ross, Marnus Schoeman, Tendayi Chikukwa, Dalton Davis, Andries Ferreira, Rossouw de Klerk, AJ le Roux, Morné Mallett. Replacements: Robbie Coetzee, Peet Vorster, Vincent Koch, Willie Nel, Branco du Preez, JC Roos, Andries Coetzee.

Related Posts

« »