Gray to captain Warriors against Zebre

Oct 4 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 1188 Views • Comments Off on Gray to captain Warriors against Zebre

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Jonny Gray will captain Glasgow Warriors against Zebre at Scotstoun this Friday and tickets are still available from

The 24-year-old is joined in the second-row by Andrew Davidson who made his debut off the bench against Dragons last weekend.

Adam Nicol starts a Glasgow Warriors game for the first time and is joined in the front-row by George Turner and Oli Kebble.

Adam Ashe starts on the blindside flank as Matt Fagerson retains his spot at the back of the scrum. Chris Fusaro completes the back-row.

Rory Hughes plays his first game of the season, joining Lee Jones who scored a brace of tries against the Dragons on the wing. Ruaridh Jackson keeps his place at full-back.

Alex Dunbar and Huw Jones continue their partnership in midfield, both crossing the whitewash last weekend.

Inside of them Adam Hastings once again starts at 10 and is joined at half-back by George Horne.

On the bench USA international Tevita Tameilau is in line to make his Glasgow Warriors debut and hooker Grant Stewart is involved in a matchday 23 for the first time this season.

Tickets are still available from and subject to availability can be purchased at the stadium right up until kick-off tomorrow night.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “Zebre are a really dangerous side, they are one of the leading teams in the comp in terms of offloads and line-breaks, so defensively we’ll have to be at our best tomorrow night.

“We’re looking forward to seeing Tevita (Tameilau) come off the bench. He arrived late but has worked hard and hopefully supporters will get a chance to see his physicality and athleticism when he comes on.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Zebre in the Guinness PRO14 at Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 5 October, kick off 7.35pm – live on FreeSports 2.
You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors.

Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

1. Oli Kebble (13)
2. George Turner (24)
3. Adam Nicol (6)
4. Andrew Davidson (1)
5. Jonny Gray (90) CAPTAIN
6. Adam Ashe (56)
7. Chris Fusaro (146)
8. Matt Fagerson (29)

9. George Horne (24)
10. Adam Hastings (14)
11. Rory Hughes (34)
12. Alex Dunbar (115)
13. Huw Jones (10)
14. Lee Jones (77)
15. Ruaridh Jackson (139)


16. Grant Stewart (7)
17. Alex Allan (78)
18. D’Arcy Rae (44)
19. Greg Peterson (30)
20. Matt Smith (18)
21. Tevita Tameilau (0)
22. Pete Horne (142)
23. Niko Matawalu (95)

Not available due to injury: Brian Alainu’uese (back), Scott Cummings (ankle), Zander Fagerson (ankle), Siua Halanukanuka (foot), Stuart Hogg (ankle), Sam Johnson (head / knee), Lelia Masaga (hip), Kiran McDonald (hand) and Tim Swinson (lower limb).

Related Posts

« »