Hosts power to win in Pretoria #PremierSchools

Jul 27 • General News, Premier Schools • 2721 Views • Comments Off on Hosts power to win in Pretoria #PremierSchools

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


Affies 50-19 Maritzburg College

The Afrikaans Seuns Hoërskool (Affies) showed their true strength on Saturday, trouncing Maritzburg College 50-19 in a classic game of two halves. Despite College holding their hosts 19-19 after 25 minutes, the boys from Pretoria struck with two quick tries before the break to begin the carnage.

Affies had already notched a pair of early tries through winger Christian Strydom, who finished the match with four to his name. For the first, flyhalf Ruan de Swardt ran a beautifully straight line and passed to centre Louritz van der Schyff. He offloaded to Strydom who went over in the corner. Eddie Fouche converted and Affies led 7-0 after just five minutes.

From a College mistake the ball then ended up in Fouche’s hands. He quickly offloaded to Strydom who ran in for his second score with only eight minutes on the clock. Again Fouche converted before College came back into the match with some sustained attacking. After a quick tap penalty in their opponent’s 25, centre Simphiwe Mpanza stepped inside and crashed over for their first try. Ruben van Blerk converted as College halved the deficit.

From a penalty, prop Cabous Eloff powered his way over the line for Affies to score again as play went from end to end. College returned the favour three minutes later with exactly the same move from a penalty as captain Kelton Thunder scored from a drive over the line. The conversion was missed but College found themselves back in the game at 19-12.

Affies then attacked to the left but a stray pass was intercepted by Mpanza, who ran over 50 metres to touch down under the posts. Again Van Blerk converted and the scores were suddenly level at 19-19.

That was as good as it got for the away side as Affies soon scored the try of the match. From a good scrum, they attacked with De Swardt sending a great pass to Fouche who broke clean through the College defence and sent fullback Pieter Coetzer over for their fourth try.

On the stroke of half-time Strydom completed his hat-trick when he took an inside pass and went over next to the uprights. With the conversion good, Affies were already pulling clear by the interval.

The second half could not live up to the excitement of the first and a heavy field might have contributed to the game slowing down. College were the early attackers, only to be held up at first and then fall just short after a Matt Kriel effort.

They then knocked on and Affies pounced from their own line to set up an attack deep inside College territory. From a resulting free-kick, they tapped and Van Der Schyff burst over for his first try of the match. Sure-footed Fouche converted to take Affies to 40 points.

Strydom scored his fourth try from a tap penalty when Affies managed an overlap and he ran in untouched through a flagging Maritzburg defence. With ten minutes left, Affies moved the ball around with abandon for Van Der Schyff to score his second and Affies’ last try as College were blown away.

For Affies:
Tries: Christian Strydom (4), Louritz van der Schyff (2), Cabous Eloff, Pieter Coetzer
Conv: Eddie Fouche (5)
For Maritzburg College:
Tries: Simphiwe Mpanza (2), Kelton Thunder
Conv: Ruben Van Blerk (2)


Affies: 15 Pieter Coetzer, 14 Carel Koch, 13 Eddie Fouche, 12, Louritz van der Schyff, 11 Christian Strydom, 10 Ruan de Swardt, 9 Divan Henning, 8 Eduan Lubbe (C), 7 Phillip Krause, 6 Regard du Plessis, 5 Henk Pretorius, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Niell Bezuidenhout, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Cabous Eloff.

Replacements: 16 Viaan Mong, 17 Jano Espag, 18 Willie van der Westhuizen, 19 Vic Meyer, 20 Lombaard Grobler, 21 Jack Hart, 22 Jacobus van Staden, 23 Arno van Wyk.

Maritzburg College: 15 Matthew Kriel, 14 Xolisa Guma, 13 Simphiwe Mpanza, 12 Charl Frackers, 11 Kudzaishe Munangi, 10 Ruben van Blerk, 9 Corey Rattray, 8 Craig Glover, 7 Nic Odendaal, 6 Kelton Thunder (C), 5 Daniel Immelman, 4 Bjorn Olivier, 3 Andrew Reintges, 2 Samuel Swanepoel, 1 Matthew Smith.
Replacements: 16 Austin Landman, 17 Tanaka Chikwezvero Smith, 18 Durang Atembe, 19 Jonathon Colenbrander, 20 Daniel Griffith, 21 Guy Rodseth.
Referee: Gerrie de Bruyn.

Related Posts

« »