HSBC London Sevens launches with illustrated captains’ line-up

May 17 • General News, International • 732 Views • Comments Off on HSBC London Sevens launches with illustrated captains’ line-up

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
  • Click here for the full illustrated line-up
  • HSBC London Sevens comes to Twickenham on 20-21 May
  • Tickets for the Saturday and Sunday are still available

Today the world’s top rugby sevens players officially launched the HSBC London Sevens with the first ever illustrated captains’ photo on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

The HSBC London Sevens is the final stop on the 2016/17 World Series circuit and takes place at Twickenham Stadium this weekend (20-21 May).

The 16 captains of the competing nations – almost half of which played in the Rio 2016 Olympic games – feature in the official captains’ line-up for the London event, illustrated by artist Steve Simpson.

In keeping with the creative direction for this year’s event, the illustration draws on the fun, festival atmosphere that the HSBC London Sevens will bring to Twickenham this weekend for the second Feast of Rugby of its kind.

The Feast of Rugby will include over 40 street food trucks and stalls – all serving gourmet dishes from around the world – live music, entertainment, live cooking demonstrations and world-class rugby sevens at the home of England Rugby for both days of the HSBC London Sevens.

New for 2017, critically acclaimed chef and owner of Temper in Soho, Neil Rankin has teamed up with the HSBC London Sevens and will bring his culinary expertise to both days of the event.
Tickets for both the Saturday and Sunday are still available here.

Speaking ahead of the HSBC London Sevens, England Sevens captain Tom Mitchell, said: “The support we’ve had throughout the whole season has been phenomenal, but finishing the World Series to a home crowd at Twickenham means so much to the entire squad.

“The HSBC London Sevens is always a unique and exciting tournament which brings a real festival atmosphere to Twickenham and we can’t wait to be a part of it!”

The 16 team captains in this year’s captains’ illustration are as follows: [Left to right]  Dai Ozawa (Japan), Faalemiga Selesele (Samoa), Jean Baptiste Mazoue (France), Gaston Revol (Argentina), Scott Riddell (Scotland), Madison Hughes (USA), Osea Kolinisau (Fiji), Phillip Synman (South Africa), Tom Mitchell (England), D J Forbes (New Zealand), James Stannard (Australia), Nathan Hirayama (Canada), Adam Thomas (Wales), Andrew Amonde (Kenya), Vladimir Ostroushko (Russia), Angel Lopez (Spain)

Related Posts

« »