Ikeys vs Madibaz match report – Ikeys blow Madibaz away

Feb 25 • General News, Varsity & Club, Varsity Cup • 1614 Views • Comments Off on Ikeys vs Madibaz match report – Ikeys blow Madibaz away

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Varsity Cup 2015. Monday 23 February 2015.FNB UCT vs FNB NMMU. UCT Rugby Stadium, Cape Town. Western CapePhoto by: SASPA Guy Alexander (UCT-8)

FNB UCT scored five tries on a windy Green Mile to notch a comfortable 40-13 victory over FNB NMMU and retain the Monte Taljaard trophy.
The defending FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International got back to winning ways in fine style, leaving the Madibaz empty-handed with no log points to show for their efforts.
The visitors had the wind at their backs in the first half, but UCT struck first when flyhalf Warren Seals scored under the poles and converted his own try to put them 8-0 up.
NMMU surged deep into UCT in response, but they could not find the finishing touch as their handling let them down to leave them scoreless at the first strategy break.
Although the Madibaz managed to camp in UCT’s half, their scrums and line-outs were under pressure so they were unable to make their territorial advantage count.
However, the visitors continued to camp on the UCT tryline and were eventually rewarded when the referee lost patience and awarded a penalty try which was converted by captain Jarryd Buys to level the scores at 8-8.
The Ikeys hit back just before half-time, when a quick tap from Seals saw scrumhalf James Alexander get over for a try which put them 16-8 ahead at the break.
UCT had the wind at their backs in the second half and charged into NMMU territory with purpose. They had the bonus point wrapped up before long as No.8 Guy Alexander first forced his way over from short range before flank Jason Klaasen scored from a driving maul to give them a comfortable 32-8 lead.
The visitors hit back with a late try, but it was little more than a consolation and UCT would have the final say when replacement Luke Stringer got over for their fifth try to cap a dominant performance.
The scorers:

Tries: Seals, J Alexander, G Alexander, Klaasen, Stringer
Cons: Seals 5
Tries: Penalty try, Louw
Con: Buys
FNB UCT: 15 Paul Cohen, 14 Dylan Sage, 13 Lihleli Xoli, 12 Nicholas Holton, 11 Khanyo Ngcukana, 10 Warren Seals, 9 James Alexander, 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Michael Botha (captain), 6 Jason Klaasen, 5 James Kilroe, 4 Mark Prior, 3 Digby Webb, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Joel Carew.
Replacements: 16 Msizi Zondi, 17 Kyle White, 18 Jade Kriel, 19 Luke Stringer, 20 Ryan Dugmore, 21 Guy Schwikkard, 22 Dean Gericke, 23 David Maasch.
FNB NMMU-Madibaz: 15 Jarryd Buys (captain), 14 Tythan Adams, 13 Andile Jho, 12 Devon Lailvaux, 11 Brian Skosana, 10 Ruan Allerston, 9 Daniel Acker, 8 Ivan-John Du Preez, 7 Stephan Zaayman, 6 CJ Velleman, 5 Rob Louw, 4 Paul Tyler, 3 Steven Robesson, 2 Dane van der Westerhuizen, 1 Arno Ebersohn.
Replacements: 16 Warrick Venter, 17 Brenden Olivier, 18 Wynand Grassman, 19 Jody Reyneke, 20 Ivan Ludick, 21 Creswin Josephs, 22 Khaya Malotana, 23 Marzuq Maarman.
Referees: Stephan Geldenhuys, Tahla Ntshakaza
Assistant referees: Local

Related Posts

« »