Injuries force changes to SA Schools squads

Aug 5 • General News, International, SA Schools • 1929 Views • Comments Off on Injuries force changes to SA Schools squads

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Injuries to SA Schools back Joshua Vermeulen and SA Schools A forward PW Koegelenberg have forced late changes to the respective squads in the lead-up to the Under-18 International Series featuring England, France, Italy and Wales starting on Friday.

Vermeulen suffered a grade-two knee ligament tear, while Koegelenberg has a bruised bicep tendon, which resulted in them being withdrawn from the Series.

Heino Bezuidenhoudt has been promoted from the SA Schools A team to the SA Schools team as a replacement for Vermeulen, while Christopher Klopper and Cornel Smit have been called up to the SA Schools A squad.

Meanwhile, Western Province forward Ernst van Rhyn, who led the union’s Under-18 Coca-Cola Craven Week team, will lead the SA Schools team, with Embrose Papier deputising for him, while Hendré Stassen from the Valke will lead the SA Schools A team.

The SA Schools team will face Wales, France and England in the Under-18 International Series, while the SA Schools A team will face Italy, England and Wales respectively. The first and last round of matches will be hosted at City Park Stadium in Crawford on August 7 and 15, while the second round of matches will be hosted at Outeniqua Park in George on August 11.

SA Schools squad for the Under-18 International Series:

Backs: Heino Bezuidenhoudt (Eastern Province – Daniel Pienaar), Andell Loubser (Blue Bulls – Menlo Park), Nico Leonard (Western Province – Paul Roos), David Brits (Border – Selborne), Stedman Gans (Blue Bulls – Waterkloof), Manie Libbok (SWD – Outeniqua), Manuel Ras (Western Province – Paarl Boys High), Wandisile Simelane (Golden Lions – Jeppe), Curwin Bosch (Eastern Province – Grey), Damian Willemse (Western Province – Paul Roos), Embrose Papier (Blue Bulls – Garsfontein), Jondre Williams (Western Province – Boland Landbou)

Forwards: Kwezi Mafu (Eastern Province – Grey), Hacjivah Dayimani (Golden Lions – Jeppe), Johan Visser (Western Province – Paarl Gymnasium), Cobus Wiese (Griquas CD – Hoerskool Upington), Ruben De Villiers (Western Province – Paarl Boys High), Salmaan Moerat (Western Province – Paarl Boys High), Ruben Van Heerden (Blue Bulls – AHS), Ernst Van Rhyn (Western Province – Paarl Gymnasium), Ashwyn Adams (Western Province – Rondebosch Boys High), Cabous Eloff (Blue Bulls – AHS), Dewald Maritz (Pumas – Hoerskool Nelspruit), Carlű Sadie (Western Province – Bellville High),Johan Grobbelaar (Western Province – Paarl Gymnasium), Nico Peyper (Valke – EG Jansen)

Coach: Hein Kriek

SA Schools A squad:

Backs: Earll Douwrie (Boland – HTS Drostdy), Riaan Van Rensburg (Eastern Province – Framesby), Tyreeq February (Western Province – Paarl Boys High), Ryan Muller (Western Province – Bellville High), Abner Van Reenen (Blue Bulls – Garsfontein), Mujaahid van der Hoven (Western Province – Rylands), Cyprian Nkomo (Pumas – Hoerskool Middelburg), Eddie Fouche (Blue Bulls – AHS), Bader-Werner Pretorius (Kwa-Zulu Natal – Michaelhouse), Matthew Dahl (Kwa-Zulu Natal – Hilton), Jason Olivier (Griffons – Welkom Gimnasium), Cornel Smit (Western Province – Bishops High).

Forwards: Zain Davids (Western Province – Rondebosch Boys High), Kwanda Dimaza (Border- Dale), Christopher Klopper (Kwa-Zulu Natal – Glenwood High), Phillip Krause (Blue Bulls – AHS), Ngwekazi Khanya Ncusane (Western Province – Paarl Boys High), PJ Steenkamp (Blue Bulls – Garsfontein), Kamva Dilima (Eastern Province – Grey), Reinhard Nothnagel (Golden Lions – Monument), Hendre Stassen (Valke – EG Jansen), Mashao Mukhari (Blue Bulls – Pretoria Boys High), Ignatius Michael Prinsloo (Free State – Grey College), Abram Venter (Griquas – De Aar High), Andre Lategan (Eastern Province – Framesby), Marnus Van der Merwe (Pumas – Hoerskool Nelspruit)

Coach: Lance Sendin

2015 Under-18 International Series fixtures:

Friday, 7 August – City Park Stadium, Cape Town
12h00 – SA Schools A vs Italy U18
14h00 – England U18 vs France U18
16h00 – SA Schools vs Wales U18

Tuesday, 11 August – Outeniqua Park, George
13h00 – SA Schools A vs England U18
15h00 – Wales U18 vs Italy U18
17h00 – SA Schools vs France U18

Saturday, 15 August – City Park Stadium Cape Town
11h00 – SA Schools A vs Wales U18
13h00 – France U18 vs Italy U18
15h00 – SA Schools vs England U18

Related Posts

« »