Isuzu Southern Kings name team to face Scarlets

Oct 25 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 941 Views • Comments Off on Isuzu Southern Kings name team to face Scarlets

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Isuzu Southern Kings Head Coach Deon Davids has opted for consistency in his backline after naming an unchanged back seven from the team that last did duty in Italy, against Benetton Rugby, a fortnight ago.

The team will see three changes in the forwards pack that will take on last season’s finalists, Scarlets, in a Guinness PRO14 Round 7 clash at the Nelson Mandela University’s Madibaz Stadium on Friday night. Kick-off is at 19h00 SA-time (18h00 UK-time).

Loosehead prop, Schalk Ferreira, who missed the match against Benetton due to a fractured nose, is back in the starting XV. Hooker Alandre van Rooyen will make his first start of the season in the place of the injured Michael Willemse.

Loose-forward Stephan de Wit comes in at No6 in a rotational switch with CJ Velleman, who falls out of the match-day 23 squad.

There is some excitement surrounding the inclusion of newbies Tertius Kruger and Fijian Meli Rokotua on the bench.

“I’m excited to see them. It’s time now for them to step and show that they can play at this level. I’m excited to see them impose themselves and showing what they can bring. The new guys have shown us some glimpses of what they can offer, so we are excited to see that in match situations,” said Head Coach, Deon Davids.

“We are rotating CJ Velleman and Stephan de Wit, while even though he has recovered, this rotation also gives him more time in the recovery from the shoulder injury he sustained in the previous match.”

The Isuzu Southern Kings will play the match in pink socks to show support for Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

Tickets for the match are available at R20 at all TicketPro outlets and at the gate at Madibaz Stadium on game day.

SOUTHERN KINGS (surname then first name)

15 Banda Masixole

14 Penxe Yaw

13 Klaasen Harlon

12 Klaasen Berton

11 Basson Bjorn

10 Du Toit Martin

9 Masimla Godlen

1 Ferreira Schalk

2 Van Rooyen Alandre

3 Pupuma Luvuyo

4 Oelofse Schalk

5 Astle John-Charles (C)

6 De Wit Stephan

7 Lerm Ruaan

8 Ntsila Andisa


16 Balekile Tango

17 Forwood Justin

18 Mguca Luphumlo

19 Greeff Stephan

20 Burger Martinus

21 van Rooyen Rudi

22 Kruger Tertius

23 Rokoua Meli

Related Posts

« »