Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival wrapped up – Sharks Academy bursaries awarded

Apr 21 • General News, School, School Rugby Festivals • 5577 Views • Comments Off on Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival wrapped up – Sharks Academy bursaries awarded

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

A highly successful seventh Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival wrapped up today with the announcement of five players who each received bursaries to the Sharks Academy for 2015.

Valued at over R100 000 each, the recipients are prop Kenny van Niekerk and flyhalf Curtis Jonas, both from Glenwood, flank Adrian Heystek from Westville Boys’ High, fullback Justerino Davids from Dale College in King William’s Town and fullback Barend Smit from HTS Middelburg. This includes a contract with the Academy in 2015, accommodation and a tuition bursary with one of its education partners.

In making the awards, Etienne Fynn managing director of the Academy, said the great pool of talent this year had made it extremely difficult for the selectors to choose only three players, as originally planned.

“The standard is again consistently high with excellent match-ups at the festival. Academy coaches and selectors who have been to the other festivals taking place around the country this weekend have reported that the Kearsney Easter Rugby Festival has an exceptionally high standard of participating teams; with sides being very competitive and evenly matched.”

The festival was well supported with capacity crowds who were able to enjoy a high standard of competitive rugby in good weather. It was a successful event for organisers and sponsors Standard Bank, Illovo Sugar South Africa, Nashua Durban and of course the Sharks Academy.

Adding to status of the festival and to the thrill of competing players, international referees Craig Joubert and Marius Jonker officiated at three games. Joubert said it was always a delight to ref schoolboy games and to experience the wealth of talent coming through at this level of the game.


Nico Malan 10 – 25 Dale College
Glenwood 31 – 29 Framesby
Westville 14 – 20 Selborne College
Affies 10 – 20 HTS Middelburg
Grey College 10 – Monument 10
Kearsney College 3 – EG Jansen 25

Selborne College 21 – 13 Framesby
HTS Middelburg 43 – 22 Nico Malan
Kearsney College 24 – 19 Dale College
Glenwood 31 – 20 EG Jansen
Grey College 32 – 20 Westville
Affies 14 – 36 Monument

Kearsney College 25 – 31 HTS Middelburg
Framesby 16 – 21 Monument
Westville 41 – 10 Nico Malan
Selborne College 12 – 34 Affies
Glenwood 31 – 17 Dale College
Grey College 26 – 8 EG Jansen

(Photos: Tracey van den Aardweg).

Related Posts

« »