Kinghorn set to earn 50th cap as Edinburgh travel to face Benetton Rugby

Oct 27 • General News • 1644 Views • Comments Off on Kinghorn set to earn 50th cap as Edinburgh travel to face Benetton Rugby

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head coach Richard Cockerill has named his side for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Benetton Rugby at Stadio Comunale di Monigo (Saturday 28 October, kick-off 3pm).

The team selection includes eight changes to the side who claimed a bonus point victory away to Krasny Yar in the European Challenge Cup last weekend. At full-back, Blair Kinghorn makes his 50th start for the club after scoring 16 of Edinburgh’s 73 points last weekend. A revamped wing pairing sees Dougie Fife and Jason Harries return to the starting XV for the trip to Italy.

In the midfield, James Johnstone continues at outside centre following his impressive outing against Krasny Yar. The Scotland Sevens man is joined by Phil Burleigh, who returns to the side after missing Edinburgh’s last two fixtures. Jason Tovey and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne once again link up at half-back.

In the front-row, WP Nel continues at tight-head as Edinburgh search for their fourth win on the bounce. The experienced internationalist will pack down alongside Stuart McInally and Darryl Marfo; both recent inclusions in Scotland’s Autumn Test squad. In the second-row, Fraser McKenzie skippers the side on his first outing as club captain. He is joined by Ben Toolis who returns to the fray after missing the trip to Moscow.

The only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row sees Hamish Watson return to the starting XV following a three-week layoff due to injury. The Scottish internationalist is joined by Cornell du Preez and Luke Crosbie, who makes his second consecutive start in the black and red.

Edinburgh team to face Benetton Rugby at Stadio Comunale di Monigo in the Guinness PRO14 on Saturday 28 October (kick-off 3pm)

15 Blair Kinghorn (49)

14 Dougie Fife (89)

13 James Johnstone (6)

12 Phil Burleigh (63)

11 Jason Harries (5)

10 Jason Tovey (30)

9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (90)

1 Darryl Marfo (8)

2 Stuart McInally (109)

3 WP Nel (110)

4 Fraser McKenzie CAPTAIN (86)

5 Ben Toolis (75)

6 Luke Crosbie (3)

7 Hamish Watson (76)

8 Cornell du Preez (88)


16 Neil Cochrane (57)

17 Michele Rizzo (4)

18 Murray McCallum (22)

19 Grant Gilchrist (105)

20 Lewis Carmichael (16)

21 Nathan Fowles (40)

22 Glenn Bryce (27)

23 Chris Dean (48)

Edinburgh appearances in brackets

Related Posts

« »