Leyds cracks Stats XV team

May 29 • General News, Super Rugby • 1537 Views • Comments Off on Leyds cracks Stats XV team

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

A superb individual performance that includes a brace of tries earned DHL Stormers wing Dillyn Leyds a place in the Vodacom Rugby App’s Stats XV team for the week.

Leyds was among five South African players in the team after the 15th round of Vodacom SupeRugby action.

Players earn points according to their positions and the statistics taken from the Vodacom Rugby App. While a prop will certainly get points for running 50 metres to score a try, he will get even more points for doing what he is on the field to do – win scrums.

Leyds’ six carries saw him scoring two tries, make two clean breaks while beating four defenders in his side’s victory over the Rebels.

Emirates Lions captain Warren Whiteley made the team for the second consecutive week with his team-mate flanker Warwick Tecklenburg joining him in the Stats XV loose trio that also includes Cell C Sharks flanker Marcell Coetzee.

The all-South African loose trio received a positive weighting for the amount of turnovers they won, tackles made and carries.

Whiteley and Tecklenburg are the two leading tacklers in the competition and again demonstrated their defensive nous in their side’s victory over the Cheetahs in Bloemfein.

The Lions captain executed 16 tackles while he also made three turnovers and five carries.

Tecklenburg in turn made 22 tackles, five carries and was also a lineout option for his side with the five balls he won on the Lions’ throw.

In the Sharks’ win over the Reds over the weekend Coetzee beat two defenders with his 10 carries, while he won two turnovers and made 16 tackles.

The South African contingent is completed by Sharks captain and lock Marco Wentzel, who won eight lineouts on their own throw and stole one from the opposition. He also did his part on defence making 11 tackles.


Stats XV review: After Round 15

15. Ben Smith (Highlanders), 14. Dillyn Leyds (Stormers), 13. Dominic Shipperley (Rebels), 12. Samu Kerevi (Reds), 11. Rob Horne (Waratahs), 10. Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), 9. Will Genia (Reds), 8. Warren Whiteley (Lions), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), 5. Marco Wentzel (Sharks), 4. Alex Ainley (Highlanders), 3. Jeff Allen (Hurricanes), Dane Coles (Hurricanes), 1. Chris Eves (Hurricanes).


Related Posts

« »