Matfield to lead Vodacom Blue Bulls against old charges

Oct 6 • National • 2534 Views • Comments Off on Matfield to lead Vodacom Blue Bulls against old charges

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Bulls Captain Victor Matfield

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach Frans Ludeke had no hesitation in naming all his available Springboks in the starting line up of the Blue Bulls team to play Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday in the final pool game of Absa’s Currie Cup competition.

Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Morné Steyn and Wynand Olivier all returns to the side after their national conditioning program has been completed, with Matfield taking over the captaincy and Rossouw the number eight berth.

Rossouw, who played Currie Cup rugby as a number eight against the Leopards last year, will replace CJ Stander, who moves to the bench, as does Flip van der Merwe, who will be replaced by Botha.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter is another who moves down to the bench for Steyn, whilst Fudge Mabeta and Stefan Watermeyer, who will be replaced by Matfield and Olivier respectively, drops out altogether.

Another Springbok, Dewald Potgieter, returns to the number seven jersey, replacing Okkie Kruger, who is on sevens duty for South Africa. Potgieter came off the bench against Western Province last week after recovering from a knee injury.
Jaco Engels comes back to the bench in a decision by Ludeke to go for a five-two split amongst his impact players.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls team to face Griquas on Saturday 09 October 2010 at GWK Park, Kimberley is:

15. Zane Kirchner
14. Gerhard van den Heever
13. Jaco Pretorius
12. Wynand Olivier
11. Jaco van der Westhuyzen
10. Morné Steyn
9. Francois Hougaard
8. Danie Roussouw
7. Dewald Potgieter
6. Derick Kuün
5. Victor Matfield (c)
4. Bakkies Botha
3. Werner Kruger
2. Chiliboy Ralepelle
1. Dean Greyling.

16. Bandise Maku
17. Rossouw de Klerk
18. Jaco Engels
19. Flip van der Merwe
20. CJ Stander
21. Ruan Snyman
22. Jacques-Louis Potgieter


●Victor Matfield and Zane Kirchner have both represented Griquas in Currie Cup rugby.
●Derick Kuün and Gerhard van den Heever are the only players who have started in all 13 matches so far this season. Kuün will play in his 70th Currie Cup match and Van den Heever in his 30th.

Leading points scorers for Vodacom Blue Bulls in 2010 Currie Cup season

Jacques-Louis Potgieter 171
Stefan Watermeyer 30

Leading current points scorer for Vodacom Blue Bulls in Currie Cup rugby

Morné Steyn 607

Road to the final:

●The defending champions are still contenders to host an Absa Currie Cup semi-final. The Vodacom Blue Bulls must achieve maximum points from their clash in Kimberley against the GWK Griquas on Saturday and hope that Vodacom Western Province and the Vodacom Free State Cheetahs lose this weekend. The Pretoria side could mathematically still fall out of the top four on point difference if they fail to gain any log points against the GWK Griquas and the Xerox Lions recorded a huge victory over the Barloworld Toyota Pumas.

Currently: In fourth position (42)
Best possible finish: Second
Worst possible finish: Fifth

Related Posts

« »