More than 30 000 tickets sold for JCW final at Newlands

Jun 21 • BabyBoks U20, General News, International, Junior Rugby, National, World Rugby, World Rugby Junior Championship • 2360 Views • Comments Off on More than 30 000 tickets sold for JCW final at Newlands

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

This is what it's all about. The Junior World Championship Trophy. Photo by Morgan Piek /Rugby15.

The South African Rugby Union announced on Thursday that more than 30 000 tickets have been sold for the IRB Junior World Championship final on Friday evening at Newlands between South Africa and New Zealand Under-20. The Newlands attendance figure is 8 000 more than the previous best effort at a JWC final.

Kick-off for the final is 18.45 and the big match, along with all the day’s action from both venues,  will again be televised live on SuperSport , in High Definition and online at

The action on Match Day 5 kicks off at noon when Scotland and Samoa will battle it out for the 9th Place Play-Off at the University of the Western Cape in Bellville. The first match at Newlands starts at 14.15 and is the clash for 5th place between Ireland and France. This will be followed by the play-off for 3rd spot between Argentina and Wales.

Rugby fans can still buy tickets at Computicket, online and also at Shoprite and Checkers Money Market outlets.

On Friday, the Western Province Ticket Office will be open from 9am while supports can also buy tickets at the Mobile Computicket outlet in Boundary Road next to the Grand Stand. Tickets are R50 reserved and R25 for unreserved seats.

“We are absolutely delighted with the amazing supporting from rugby support in the Western Cape province. It is mainly thanks to their passionate support that we’ve been able to stage such a successful event. The four hosts venues also deserve much credit for their sterling efforts,” said Steven Roos, the SARU Tournament Manager.

South Africa Under-20 will play in their first ever final since the start of the new JWC format in 2008, while New Zealand have won all four previous tournaments.

Related Posts

« »