MTN Golden Lions team announced for semi against Western Province

Oct 16 • General News, South Africa • 3032 Views • Comments Off on MTN Golden Lions team announced for semi against Western Province

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

MTN Golden Lions Centre celebrating his try after returning from injury. Photo by Bruce Taylor /Rugby15.

The Golden Lions Rugby Union announced the MTN Golden Lions team to play DHL Western Province on Saturday, 20 October 2012 in the second semi-final match of the 2012 Absa Currie Cup competition, this afternoon.

There are eleven changes to the starting line up who played the Bulls last weekend:
1. JC Janse van Rensburg returns to Loose Head Prop in place of CJ van der Linde
2. Jacobie Adriaanse replaces Pat Cilliers at Tight Head Prop
3. Franco van der Merwe returns to the starting line up at Right Lock in place of Paul Willemse
4. Cobus Grobbelaar replaces Jaco Kriel at Left Flanker
5. Jaco Kriel starts at Right Flanker in place of Derick Minnie
6. Warren Whiteley replaces Willie Britz at Number Eight
7. Michael Bondesio starts at Scrum Half in place of Ross Cronje
8. Elton Jantjies replaces Butch James at Fly Half
9. Jaco Taute starts in place of Deon van Rensburg at Right Centre
10. Ruan Combrinck moves from Full Back to Right Wing to replace Deon Helberg
11. Andries Coetzee starts at Full Back

On the bench there are six changes:
1. CJ van der Linde or Pat Cilliers will start at Reserve Prop in place of Jacobie Adriaanse. The final decision will be made on Thursday.
2. Hendrik Roodt replaces Franco van der Merwe at Utility Forward while Franco moves to the starting line up
3. Derick Minnie plays at Utility Forward in place of Warren Whiteley
4. Ross Cronje is at Reserve Scrum Half in place of Whestley Moolman
5. Butch James slots into Utility Back in place of Elton Jantjies who starts this week
6. Deon Helberg is at Utility Back in place of Lionel Mapoe

This match will serve as Cobus “Baywatch” Grobbelaar’s Benefit Match ahead of his retirement. Following his many years of loyal service, Grobbelaar will be given a percentage of the gate takings from Saturday’s semi final match. Media are requested to assist with getting this message to the public.

The team is:

No Position Name Surname
15 Fullback Andries Coetzee
14 Right Wing Ruan Combrinck
13 Right Centre Jaco Taute
12 Left Centre Alwyn / Dylan Hollenbach / des Fountain
11 Left Wing Anthony Volmink
10 Flyhalf Elton Jantjies
9 Scrumhalf Michael Bondesio
8 Number Eight Warren Whiteley
7 Right Flanker Jaco Kriel
6 Left Flanker Cobus Grobbelaar
5 Right Lock Franco Van der Merwe
4 Left Lock Michael Rhodes
3 Tight Head Prop Jacobie Adriaanse
2 Hooker Callie Visagie
1 Loose Head Prop JC Janse van Rensburg (c)
16 Hooker Bandise Maku
17 Prop CJ / Pat Van der Linde / Cilliers
18 Forward Lock Hendrik Roodt
19 Loose Forward Derick Minnie
20 Utility Back Ross Cronje
21 Utility Back Butch James
22 Utility Back Deon Helberg

Related Posts

« »