MTN Lions Team Announcement for Chiefs

May 2 • General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 2022 Views • Comments Off on MTN Lions Team Announcement for Chiefs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The MTN Lions in action against the Crusaders. Photo by Bruce Taylor /Rugby15

The Golden Lions Rugby Union announced the MTN Lions team to play in their ninth match of the 2012 Vodacom Super Rugby competition against the Chiefs on Saturday, 5 May 2012 this morning.

There are five changes to the starting line up from the team who played the Brumbies last weekend:
– Franco van der Merwe replaces Hendrik Roodt
– With van der Merwe moving to Left Lock, Ruan Botha comes in at Right Lock
– Derick Minnie replaces Cobus Grobbelaar, who has been moved to the bench
– Grant Hattingh will get his first start for the MTN Lions at Right Flanker
– Ross Cronje starts at Scrumhalf ahead of Tian Meyer who has been moved to the bench

A sixth change may occur following a late fitness test of Caylib Oosthuizen. Should Oosthuizen not be able to play in the weekends game, JC Janse van Rensburg will return to the team at Loosehead Prop.

The team is:

Number Position Name Surname
15 Fullback Andries Coetzee
14 Right Wing Deon Van Rensburg
13 Outside Centre Jaco Taute
12 Inside Centre Alwyn Hollenbach
11 Left Wing Lionel Mapoe
10 Flyhalf Elton Jantjies
9 Scrumhalf Ross Cronje
8 Number Eight Joshua Strauss (c)
7 Right Flanker Grant Hattingh
6 Left Flanker Derick Minnie
5 Right Lock Ruan Botha
4 Left Lock Franco Van der Merwe
3 Tight Head Prop Patric Cilliers
2 Hooker Callie Visagie
1 Loose Head Prop Caylib / JC Oosthuizen / Janse van Rensburg
16 Reserve Hooker Martin Bezuidenhout
17 Reserve Prop CJ Van der Linde
18 Reserve Lock Cobus Grobbelaar
19 Reserve Flanker Jaco Kriel
20 Reserve Scrumhalf Tian Meyer
21 Reserve Back James Kamana
22 Reserve Back Michael Killian

Related Posts

« »