Nel, Du Preez to play for Academy side in Europe

Jun 2 • Blitz Bokke, General News, Sevens Rugby • 1974 Views • Comments Off on Nel, Du Preez to play for Academy side in Europe

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)


Regular Springbok Sevens squad members Ruhan Nel and Carel du Preez highlight an exciting group of players named by SARU Sevens Academy Manager Marius Schoeman to travel to invitational Sevens tournaments in Italy and Switzerland later this month.

Du Preez and Nel both made their Springbok Sevens debut during the recent 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series after being called up for national duty from the Academy ranks, something Schoeman believes will be part of the focus of the selected touring group as well.

The team was selected after a round of gruelling trials in Stellenbosch and, according to the coach, the trials again showed the high quality of players in the South African structures.

“The trials highlighted the skills and abilities of the next tier of players. These guys are all showing massive potential to graduate into the national team and some of them will even push for places in the Olympic Games in Rio next year,” Schoeman said.

“We have had an eye on certain players for a while now, and it is pleasing that they were available for selection. I would like to thank the various unions who allowed them to train and now play with us. I think the Academy pathway has worked for our national team as well, as guys like Ruhan and Carel clearly showed this year, as well as others like Kwagga Smith and Werner Kok before them.”

Schoeman included a number of Academy players based in Stellenbosch, as well as some new faces who excelled at the trials.

The Roma tournament will be played on 12 and 13 June at the Acqua Acetosa Stadium. The South Africans won the tournament in 2013 and 2014.

The team then will travel to Switzerland, where the Geneva Sevens will be contested at the Centre Sportif du Bout du Monde on 19-20 June.

The team travelling to Europe is: 

1. Carel du Preez

2. Ruhan Nel

3. Sandile Ngcobo ©

4. Lungelo Gosa

5. Sibahle Maxwane

6. Vincent Maruping

7. Dylan Sage

8. TJ Goddard

9. Tyler Fisher

10. Siviwe Soyizwapi

11. Riaan Esterhuizen

12. Daniel Maartens

Non traveling reserves:

Thabo Mabuza

Joel Booysen


Related Posts

« »