New Zealand Rugby announces 2018 ASB Rugby Award nominations

Dec 5 • General News • 2039 Views • Comments Off on New Zealand Rugby announces 2018 ASB Rugby Award nominations

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
  • Crusaders, Auckland and Thames Valley nominated for new national team award
  • Ieremia, Robertson and Kite nominated for new national coach award
  • All Blacks, All Blacks Sevens, Black Ferns Sevens up for NZ team of the year

Back-to-back Rugby World Cup Sevens champions and Commonwealth Games Gold medallists the Black Ferns Sevens and the All Blacks Sevens, and the world number one ranked All Blacks, are nominated for the adidas New Zealand team of the year while the Crusaders, Auckland and Thames Valley are shortlisted for a new adidas National team of the year award, New Zealand Rugby announced today.

New Zealand Rugby has today revealed the nominations for the 2018 ASB Rugby Awards, which this year sees the introduction of modified awards to recognise teams representing New Zealand and those representing Super Rugby Clubs or provincial unions.

Two coaching categories are introduced to recognise the depth of coaching talent in New Zealand at a provincial, Investec Super Rugby and national level, and two new team categories will reward the best of the teams representing New Zealand on the international stage, and best of teams in national and Super Rugby competitions.

Head coaches from New Zealand teams – Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens), Steve Hansen (All Blacks), and Clark Laidlaw (All Blacks Sevens) have been shortlisted for ASB New Zealand Coach of the Year.

Nominations for the inaugurual ASB National Coach of the Year for Super Rugby and Provincial Union teams are Alama Ieremia (Auckland), Kieran Kite (Canterbury), and Scott Robertson (Crusaders).  In his first year as Coach for Auckland, Ieremia took the team to their first Mitre 10 Cup win since 2007, while Robertson secured back to back Investec Super Rugby titles for the Crusaders and Kite coached the Canterbury team to back to back Farah Palmer Cup titles.

Black Ferns halfback Kendra Cocksedge, and All Blacks Richie Mo’unga, Brodie Retallick and Codie Taylor have all been nominated for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year award.

Cocksedge is also in the running for New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year as she continued to impress in 2018 at the provincial and international level, and this year became the first player to surpass 1000 first-class points in the Farah Palmer Cup.

New Zealand Rugby (NZR) Chief Executive Steve Tew said 2018 had been big year for rugby.

“It’s been another special year with several victories providing us moments of pride and cause for celebration, and some great rugby moments that inspire us to always strive to be our best.

“The All Blacks Sevens and Black Ferns Sevens are the first teams to win back to back Rugby World Cup Sevens titles in addition to gold at the Commonwealth Games; the Black Ferns retained the Laurie O’Reilly Memorial Trophy, the Canterbury women’s team secured back to back wins, along with the Crusaders winning the Investec Super Rugby Championship for a second year, Auckland won the Mitre 10 Cup for the first time since 2007, and the All Blacks have secured every trophy they have contested this year. These achievements show that New Zealand teams have been in dominant form.

“This level of success cannot be achieved without the support of our sponsors and fans. I want to thank ASB for their continued support of these awards and I acknowledge SKY TV for their ongoing partnership with our game and their broadcasting of these awards.”

Simon Tong, ASB executive general manager, Digital, Data & Brand said that the bank is incredibly proud to be supporting the ASB Rugby Awards for the third year in a row.

“These awards are a highlight on the sporting calendar, where we celebrate the progress and achievements of New Zealand’s rugby community; from the players, teams, coaches and referees to the grassroots supporters who play such a crucial role in the success of the sport.  It’s great to see such a diverse range of Kiwi players and teams succeeding both here in New Zealand, and internationally – proving rugby in New Zealand is truly one step ahead.”

A full list of the nominees is detailed below and the the winners will be announced at the 2018 ASB Rugby Awards, being held at Auckland’s Sky City Convention Centre on Thursday, 13 December and the event will be broadcast on SKY Sport.

The ASB Rugby Awards judging panel is: Graham Mourie, Matt Sexton, Mike Eagle, Dr Farah Palmer and Tony Johnson


Sky Television Fan’s Try of the Year – Top Three Finalists
Kelly Brazier (Black Ferns Sevens)
Chris Hala’ufia (St Peter’s College)
Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Richard Kelly (Taranaki)
Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Irene Eruera-Taiapa (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Steve Webling (Taranaki)
Kim Wheeler (King Country)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Sam Darry (Canterbury)
Tom Christie (Canterbury)
Risaleaana Pouri-Lane (Tasman)
Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Craig Clare (Wanganui)
Brett Ranga (Thames Valley)
Willie Wright (South Canterbury)

Duane Monkley Medal
TJ Faiane (Auckland)
Luke Romano (Canterbury)
Fletcher Smith (Waikato)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal
Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Krysten Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)
Jackie Patea-Fereti (Wellington)

ASB National Coach of the Year
Alama Ieremia (Auckland)
Kieran Kite (Canterbury Women)
Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

ASB New Zealand Coach of the Year
Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens)
Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
Clark Laidlaw (All Blacks Sevens)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs)
Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)
Matt Todd (Crusaders)

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year
Sarah Goss (Ngāti Kahungunu)
Rieko Ioane (Ngāpuhi / Te Whānau ā Apanui)
Codie Taylor (Ngāti Raukawa / Muaūpoko)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year
Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty)
Vilimoni Koroi (Otago)
Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year
Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty)
Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year
Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Aroha Savage (Counties Manukau)
Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Richie Mo’unga (Canterbury)
Brodie Retallick (Hawke’s Bay)
Codie Taylor (Canterbury)

adidas National Team of the Year
Thames Valley

adidas New Zealand Team of the Year
All Blacks
All Blacks Sevens
Black Ferns Sevens

Steinlager Salver for Outstanding Contribution to New Rugby
Announced on 13 December

NZRPA Kirk Award
Announced on 13 December

Related Posts

« »