Next generation of SA Women's players travel to USA

Jul 10 • International • 2024 Views • Comments Off on Next generation of SA Women's players travel to USA

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The next generation of South African Women players leave for the United States later today to participate in the Under-20 Nations Cup in Santa Barbara.

The youngsters will be one of four teams taking part in the U20 Women Nations Cup at the University of Santa Barbara from 14 – 23 July 2011. They will be joined by France, England and hosts, the United States.


Kaya Malotana, the SA U20 Women coach, has prepared his young charges well for this mission and the USA tournament will be the team’s major international participation for the season. The team has trained together for a couple of days each month since last December at their training base in Port Elizabeth.


A couple of youngsters have already been earmarked for inclusion in future senior women training squads and it will be interesting to see how the players perform against teams who play together on a much more regular basis.

Malotana, who assisted Denver Wannies in the coaching duties for the senior SA Women’s team for a couple of years, said his team was excited by the prospects of playing against some of the strongest team in their age-groups.

“We are delighted to enter such a strong competition, and although our youngsters don’t play that often against teams of this calibre, I am sure they will give good account of themselves. This is a very good opportunity to test them against some of the best young players in the world,” said Malotana.

The SA U20 Women’s squad to play in the U20 Nations Cup in Santa Barbara is:

Doreen Rakobela, Judith Chauke, Katlego Moremi, Marithy Pienaar, Mpho Moloto, Sarah Ramoraswi, Simone Vosloo (Blue Bulls), Celeste Adonis, Chrisna van Slicht (Boland), Ntomboxolo Nanto, Khayalethu Mbambula            (Eastern Province), Mpho Mopeng, Christa Simpson (Free State),

Maserame Bankiese (Griffons), Nqobile Protecia Mhlangu, Noluthando Mbambo, Nompilo Mtshali, Nomthandazo Mathe, Nomzamo Ngcamu, Shona Leah Weston, Zanele Mbokazi (KwaZulu-Natal),

Nonkasa Fisiwe Zwane (Pumas), Nicole Flandorff (SWD), Elma Kemp (Western Province). Team Management: Kayalethu Malotana (coach), Lungisa Kama (assistant-coach), Henderik Pieterse (assistant-coach), Nomsebenzi Tsotsobe (team manager), Zinigisani Gxolo (fitness & conditioning coach), Wayne Holroyd (physiotherapist), Dr Jerome Mampane (team doctor).

Related Posts

« »