Odera Names Provisional Chipu Squad | 2017 National Sevens Series Dates Out

Mar 1 • General News, International • 1461 Views • Comments Off on Odera Names Provisional Chipu Squad | 2017 National Sevens Series Dates Out

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head Coach Paul Odera has named a provisional 41 man squad as the Kenya U20s  prepare for the 2017 Africa U20 Championship set for 17th to 23rd April in Madagascar.
Odera has included 13 players who did duty at last year’s Africa U19 Championships in Namibia. Menengai Cream Homeboyz back row Steve Otieno who is enjoying a good run of form in the Kenya Cup and Strathmore Leos Gabriel Adero who captained the squad  last season are some of the returnees, the others being William Diffu, Roy Wesonga, Mark Mutuku, Stanley Isogol, Charles Tendwa, Brodie Wanjohi, Steve Keter, Jeff Mutuku, Xavier Kipng’etich, Michael Kimwele and James Wanjala.
The squad, which will be whittled down closer to the tournament starts training on Sunday 5 March 2017.

Kenya U20 Provisional Squad :William Diffu (Laiser Hill Academy), Roy Wesonga (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Edwin Obae (Resolution Kisii), Emmanuel Silungi ( Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Mark Mutuku (Nondescripts), Stanley Isogol (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Harold Anduvati (Menengai Oilers), Charles Tendwa (South Coast Pirates), Brodie Wanjohi (KCB), Akuei Monate (Top Fry Nakuru), Alvin Okoth (Mwamba), Keith Andai (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Collins Onyango (Top Fry Nakuru), Michael Amolo (EPS Morans), Joshua Macharia (KCB), Marco Shukrani (South Coast Pirates), Bonface Ochieng (SportPesa Quins), Kevin Kerore (Mwamba), Ali Ramtu (South Coast Pirates), Victor Matiko (Menengai Oilers), Derrick Ludenyi (Menengai Oilers), James McGreevy (Hillcrest/Old Ruts RFC England), Steve Keter (KCB), Brian Ochieng (Mwamba), Joshua Amayo (EPS Morans), Andrew Siminyu (St. Mary’s/EPS Morans), Steve Otieno (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Gabriel Adero (Strathmore Leos), Joseph Musyoki (South Coast Pirates), Jeff Mutuku (Kingswood College South Africa), Joseck Ondong ( Northern Suburbs), Derrick Keyoga (Eldoret Falcons), Erastus Karani (SportPesa Quins), Xavier Kipng’etich (Resolution Impala Saracens), Michael Kimwele (KCB), Dennis Mwangi (Menengai Oilers), Oscar Agutu (South Coast Pirates), Samuel Asati (KCB), James Wanjala (Strathmore Leos), Geoffrey Mugwe (Top Fry Nakuru), Michael Munywa (Resolution Impala Saracens)

National Sevens Series Dates Announced

The Kenya Rugby Union has announced the dates for the 2017 National Sevens Series.  The  Driftwood Sevens gets the sevens season underway on 22nd  July with the Kabeberi Sevens taking place a week later in Nairobi.

Kabras player
The Series will then take a one month break, a break that has been necessitated by the country’s general election in August before resuming on 2nd September with the Prinsloo Sevens in Nakuru. The fourth leg of the series takes place on 9th  September with the last two legs, the Christie Sevens in Nairobi and the Dala Sevens in Kisumu taking place on the 23rd and 30th of September respectively.
The KRU has in the meantime invited its affiliate clubs to place their bids for the fourth round of the series set for 9th September.

2017 National Sevens Series Dates
Round 1: Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa  – 22nd/23rd July
Round 2: Kabeberi Sevens, Nairobi – 29th/30th July
Round 3: Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru – 2nd/3rd September
Round 4: To be confirmed   – 9th/10th September
Round 5: Christie Sevens, Nairobi – 23rd/24rd September
Round 6: Dala Sevens, Kisumu – 30th September/ 1st October

Related Posts

« »