Paul Jordaan on wing for Pumitas clash

Apr 21 • BabyBoks U20, General News, International, Junior Rugby, National • 2653 Views • Comments Off on Paul Jordaan on wing for Pumitas clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Paul Jordaan of South Africa is tackled during the IRB Junior World Championship match between England and South Africa at Plebiscito Stadium on June 18, 2011 in Padova, Italy. Photo by David Rogers

Paul Jordaan, The Sharks back utility back, was included in the SA Under-20 starting line-up for the team’s third and final international clash against Argentina on Saturday at the Danie Craven in Stellenbosch.

The Springbok Sevens international joined the team earlier in the week and he will do duty on the right wing in the Saturday clash which starts at 6pm. The stadium is one of two host venues for the IRB Junior World Championship 2012.

A first-choice SA U20 selection, excluding players unavailable because of injury and Super Rugby duties, easily beat the Pumitas 51-19 at the Markotter Stadium last weekend. On Tuesday a SA U20 XV, comprising mostly of Under-19 players, then forced a stronger and much more experienced Argentina to an exciting 23-23 draw at the same venue.

“The coaches had a good look at the players – during training and in the previous two matches – and this is the best available team we assemble. Our focus over the past few days have been primarily on keeping our structure and maintaining focus for the full duration of the match. If we do that then I believe we will have a very positive outcome,” said Theron.

Flanker Wian Liebenberg will again lead the team from the side of the scrum. Reserve winger JJ de Klerk has recovered fully from the bump against the head which saw him leaving the field as a precaution during last weekend’s opening clash.

SARU will announce the official SA U20 JWC squad on Wednesday.

The SA Under-20 team vs. Argentina on Saturday at 6pm in Stellenbosch is:

1. Allan Dell

2. Mark Pretorius

3. Nicolas van Dyk

4. Ettienne Oosthuizen

5. Marvin Orie

6. Khaya Majola

7. Wian Liebenberg

8. Fabian Booysen

9. Kevin Luiters

10. Tony Jantjies

11. Dean Hammond

12. Jan Serfontein

13. Patrick Howard

14. Paul Jordaan

15. Marius Schmidt


16. Neethling Fouche

17. Jason Thomas

18. Hencus van Dyk

19. Ruan Venter

20. Braam Steyn

21. Abrie Griesel

22. JJ de Klerk

23. Dylan Leyds

Related Posts

« »