Paul Treu announces 7's squad for Hong Kong

Feb 28 • International • 1830 Views • Comments Off on Paul Treu announces 7's squad for Hong Kong

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Paul Treu

Paul Treu

Springbok Sevens coach, Paul Treu, has named a 22-man training squad in preparation for the next two IRB Sevens World Series in Adelaide and Hong Kong.

In naming his squad to resume training on Monday morning in Stellenbosch, Treu added three new names to his core squad, namely Bryan Shabangu (Sharks), Marcel Brache (Ikeys) and Sampie Mastriet (Blue Bulls).

South Africa will kick off their quest for a third successive Adelaide crown in Pool C alongside USA Sevens champions Samoa, France and Japan in the 19-21 March event.

A week later their pool opponents will be Kenya, Zimbabwe and Korea at the Hong Kong Sevens. The defending World Series champions are currently seventh on the log.

Renfred Dazel, a key member of last season’s championship-winning team, was not considered because of a knee injury. The injury has sidelined the playmaker since the end of last season.

Powerful back stalwart Ryno Benjamin will continue his rehabilitation in Stellenbosch this week after he missed the last day’s action in Las Vegas due to a damaged knee ligament.

The SA Sevens’ management team will continue to monitor the recovery of captain, Paul Delport (ankle) and veteran Neil Powell (shoulder).

The Springbok Sevens training squad to assemble tomorrow in Stellenbosch is:

Chase Minnaar, Kyle Brown, Frankie Horne, Shaun Venter, Cecil Afrika, Ryno Benjamin, MJ Mentz, Chris Dry, Mpho Mbiyozo, JW Jonker, Mzwandile Stick, Jonathan Adendorf, Paul Delport, Marius Schoeman, Neil Powell (all contracted to SARU), Hoffman Maritz (Free State Cheetahs), Branco du Preez (Blue Bulls) , Steven Hunt ( Western Province), Phillip van der Walt (Cheetahs U21), Bryan Shabangu (The Sharks), Marcel Brache (Ikeys), Sampie Mastriet (Blue Bulls).


Related Posts

« »